Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hi from a newbie :)  (Read 2166 times)

PaulW

• Shipmate
Hi from a newbie :)
« on: September 03, 2012, 09:55:57 pm »

Hi all, definite newbie here!  :-)

I'll start with a story . . .

Once upon a time . . . about 14 years ago (I think!), a gadget obsessed teenager decided that he absolutely 'must have' a radio controlled boat. After much begging, his parents decided to purchase one for Christmas (Built by the model shop). It was a nice speedboat with an IC Engine. Unfortunately due to a mixture of him being a teenager and it being more technical than just turning it on and away you go, it did no more than an hour on the water before being flushed, cleaned and stored in the loft.

Fast forward roughly 14 years and the gadget obsessed teenager has turned into a gadget obsessed 30 year old who happened to be helping his parents clean out their loft the other day and came across the aforementioned boat! It is now sat in my spare room just begging to be used. There is however one problem . . . the gadget obsessed 30 year old has little more knowledge / experience than the gadget obsessed teenager!

After a bit of trawling on eBay, i have a glow starter, starter motor, glow plugs and batteries on the way. My biggest issue at the moment is that i don't know what fuel to buy for it or where to get it from (I live near Exeter in Devon). The engine has SC stamped on the side which i believe stands for Super Custom, but i have absolutely no idea what size it is. Is there an easy way to tell? I also have no idea about the model of the boat though i assumed it might be a seahawk titan. That's just a guess based on the decals, but my search on google didn't turn anything up.

I would love some suggestions as to how best to progress what i think could be a new and interesting hobby for me!   :-))

The boat has the following dimensions: