Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New to the Hobby - Seeking Advice  (Read 2231 times)

cillian_sheerin

• Shipmate
New to the Hobby - Seeking Advice
« on: September 12, 2012, 02:33:14 pm »

Hello all,
 I am a first time model boat builder who is seeking advice with regards my first project. I am studying woodwork in college and am currently planning my final year project. I come from a fishing background and for a while now I have toyed with the idea of making a scale model of my father’s fishing boat. The boat in question is an Ocean Tramp 36.

Although the boat itself is of fibreglass construction, I intend to recreate it using timber. I also have the blueprints of the boat which I intend to scale down. I will build the boat in college so I have a full workshop of tools at my disposal. With regards time, as it is my final year project I intend to invest quite an amount of time in the build as it needs to showcase my woodorking ability, for the same reason I want to make pretty much every aspect of the build from scratch where possible. As far as the budget of the build is concerned, I have no exact figure in mind but am happy to spend in order to achieve a high quality finished boat as it will need to be presented for assessment so I dont intend to cut corners. I also want the boat to be radio controlled.

I am proficcient at woodwork but am a complete novice when it comes to this sort of model making so any assistance which anyone can provide regarding any part of the build would be massively appreciated!

Tug-Kenny RIP

• Full Mayhemer
Re: New to the Hobby - Seeking Advice
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2012, 05:06:34 pm »

Hello cillian_sheerin and welcome to Mayhem.