Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: dickie tug/seaport  (Read 2946 times)

Howard

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 719
  • Location: Scotter Lincolnshire
dickie tug/seaport
« on: September 17, 2012, 12:37:50 AM »

Hello friends,
After Having won this tug in a raffle on our club night sail and after reading all your thoughts on here its now stripped down to just a hull flood tanks out and bilge keels fitted only thing in is prop-shaft is it ok as i cant seam to get it out going to try and make mine into a Southhamton fire tug Gatcombe as the hull looks nearly spot on for its.
                             Regards Howard.
Logged

HawkEye

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 459
  • Location: North Kent
Re: dickie tug/seaport
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2012, 04:00:49 PM »

only thing in is prop-shaft is it ok as i cant seam to get it out

Howard,
Original coupling will just pull off then twist the old shaft out with a pair of pliers ( should you wish to change it ).

HawkEye
Logged
I've never been so sure of something I wasn't sure of...

Martin [Admin]

  • Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18,581
  • Location: Peterborough, UK
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: dickie tug/seaport
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2012, 05:25:54 PM »


My original shaft and coupling are not too bad.
 You can try top bed them in a bit, if you connect the motor to up, say 3volts, oil it up and let it run overnight.
Logged
"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!"    -   Mayhem FaceBook Group!

Howard

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 719
  • Location: Scotter Lincolnshire
Re: dickie tug/seaport
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2012, 09:30:21 PM »

Thank you, for the replys Gents think I may just leave alone the shaft and use the coupling to any one know what size shaft it is incase I change it has anyone just renewed shaft but left in the tube the Gatcombe has a four blade prop in case I did change it.
                               regards Howard.
Logged

HawkEye

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 459
  • Location: North Kent
Re: dickie tug/seaport
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2012, 10:19:15 PM »


Mine was replaced with a 6" stainless shaft and tube  cut down to size from MMB (ebay)   :-)).

Details here - http://www.modelboatmayhem.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=30878.msg304975#msg304975
Logged
I've never been so sure of something I wasn't sure of...

HRVI

  • The Salvager
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
  • Location: Macclesfield
Re: dickie tug/seaport
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2012, 07:01:31 PM »

Ditch the whole stern tube prop shaft & dog drive. the stern tube has a larger diameter than the shaft so it lets water in. replace all that & put a 50 or 55mm prop on it instead of the 45mm prop then put a nylon UCJ on it. Much much quieter to run like that & less leaks
Logged

Howard

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 719
  • Location: Scotter Lincolnshire
Re: dickie tug/seaport
« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2012, 07:28:06 PM »

How hard is to get the tube out  or could i slide another tube and shaft inside the old one or is the one in the boat a standard sizeas mine seams pretty well resined in but thanks for all the replys if it easy would much perfer a m,m,m. shaft with oilerand a 50 or 55mm four blade prop.
                       regards Howard.
Logged

HRVI

  • The Salvager
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
  • Location: Macclesfield
Re: dickie tug/seaport
« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2012, 07:31:51 PM »

How hard is to get the tube out  or could i slide another tube and shaft inside the old one or is the one in the boat a standard sizeas mine seams pretty well resined in but thanks for all the replys if it easy would much perfer a m,m,m. shaft with oilerand a 50 or 55mm four blade prop.
                       regards Howard.

Probably grip it with some pliers & twist until it comes out. You may even fir a 60mm prop in there. I got a 50 & there's plenty of room inside the nozzle still
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up