Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Aerokit Sea Nymph build  (Read 9580 times)

rk295

• Full Mayhemer
    • My little blog
Aerokit Sea Nymph build
« on: September 22, 2012, 08:04:37 pm »

Hi guys,

Before I start let me say I'm a complete beginner with model boats, I have been building and flying planes and helis for a while. So what got me into this boat lark?

I have a toddler (~3years old) who we quite often take to the children's play area in a local park; Broomfield Park here in London. On the way to the kids area there is a fairly well attended model boat club using what I believe to be a purpose built boating lake which dates from many years ago. He loves watching the little boats on the pond, seemingly more interested in them than my noisy planes! One day my wife suggested I build him a little boat, well how could I refuse!

I'm a great fan of vintage model aircraft, and while flipping through a '70s vintage Keil Kraft catalogue I found a selection of boats from the Aerokit range, a bit of googling later lead me to the Vintage Model Boat Company who are producing laser cut kits of some of this range. Not being one to think things through completely before diving in! I soon found myself in possession of a Sea Nymph kit.

So this is how I got here, the rough plan is to try and use a 7.2v buggy NiMH pack and a receiver out of a car I no longer use. The kit came with a 385 (I think?) motor and I have a spare 9g mini servo. So I'll need a rudder, prop shaft, prop and ESC.

Being mostly a thing for my kid to play with I dont intend to go to town on detailing. Simple but nicely done is sort of what I'm aiming for!

This is a scan of the KK catalogue.

I should add that I've finished this build now, I'll just post a few messages with pics of the build below.
My adventures in RC modelling blog: http://riviera.org.uk/

Artistmike

• Full Mayhemer
  • North Devon