Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.  (Read 7428 times)

Lancejsy

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
  • How much!!
  • Location: Jersey in the channel Islands
    • jerseymodelboats
Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« on: October 29, 2012, 11:27:03 AM »

Hello all. I have always asked any questions on mayhem as I always get good sound advice, Rokbottom wants some advice about a brushless and esc for his Perkasa 48" which will be running on one motor and propshaft. [size=78%]Can you help us with any [/size][size=78%]suggestions on which way to go with this.[/size]
[size=78%]Thank you[/size]
[size=78%]Lance [/size]
Logged

essex2visuvesi

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6,146
  • Location: Finland, England, Finland!
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2012, 12:23:49 PM »

do you want scale speed or ludicrous speed?

Low KV high voltage outrunners (6s 22.2v) seem to be the order of the day with this kind/size of boat
RED181 has a 48" Huntsman running on a single brushless outrunner on 6S lipos
My 36" Huntsman runs an 800Kv Outrunner on 6s.... That has enough power to put the hull almost vertical  :o
Logged
One By One The Penguins Steal My Sanity
Proud member of the OAM  (Order of the Armchair Modeller)
Junior member of the OGG  (Order of the Grumpy Git)

Lancejsy

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
  • How much!!
  • Location: Jersey in the channel Islands
    • jerseymodelboats
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2012, 02:01:31 PM »

Thank you very much for your reply and I will pass it to Rokbottom asap. Once again mayhem members come up with the goods.
Cheers
Lance
Logged

Big Ada

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,019
  • Location: Kent UK
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2012, 04:14:04 PM »

Thanks guys,
I did ask on another post but got no answer.
I would like it to go with a little oomph but not mental as we are restricted speedwise on our lake.
I have some 3cell lipos or I could use a 12v brick as the boat is very light and will need ballast.
 
Regards,
 
Len.
Logged

essex2visuvesi

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6,146
  • Location: Finland, England, Finland!
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2012, 07:05:04 AM »

you can link 2 3cell lipos to give a 6cell
Logged
One By One The Penguins Steal My Sanity
Proud member of the OAM  (Order of the Armchair Modeller)
Junior member of the OGG  (Order of the Grumpy Git)

Big Ada

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,019
  • Location: Kent UK
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2012, 05:26:53 PM »

Hi Essex...,
Thanks for that, what ESC goes with that sort of Power, any suggestions of where to buy, I have time as am still licking and sticking the bits back on it.
 
Len
Logged

Subculture

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,905
  • Location: North London
    • Dive-in to Model submarines
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2012, 01:26:23 PM »

Going for higher voltages like a 6s pack reduces the current requirment on the batteries, however not really necessary for sport use, and the esc's tend to be more expensive. I'd go with a  motor rated for between 1000-1500kv on 3S lipo.
 
Andy

Big Ada

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,019
  • Location: Kent UK
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #7 on: November 03, 2012, 04:52:59 PM »

Thanks Andy, and what size ESC?.
 
Len.
Logged

Subculture

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,905
  • Location: North London
    • Dive-in to Model submarines
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #8 on: November 03, 2012, 06:24:16 PM »

I would go for a model that can supply 40-50A.

essex2visuvesi

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6,146
  • Location: Finland, England, Finland!
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #9 on: November 04, 2012, 11:07:37 AM »

I would go for a model that can supply 40-50A.

Bear in mind that chinese amps are somewhat smaller than those used in th EU so its best to go for something with at least 30-30% more than you think you need, so I would say go for something in the 70A range.

I have a 200A in my 36" Huntsman.  For the extra few quid I think it was worth it
Logged
One By One The Penguins Steal My Sanity
Proud member of the OAM  (Order of the Armchair Modeller)
Junior member of the OGG  (Order of the Grumpy Git)

Subculture

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,905
  • Location: North London
    • Dive-in to Model submarines
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #10 on: November 04, 2012, 11:58:03 AM »

Well to be honest I'd expect the brushless set-up in such a craft to pull no more than 15-20A e.g. 200W. So I doubled the current rating of the controller. Should be adequate even with Chinese amps, unless you're buying some real rubbish.

Big Ada

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,019
  • Location: Kent UK
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #11 on: November 04, 2012, 12:25:42 PM »

Thanks guys,
I am finding looking through G Cods site confusing as some Boat ESCs dont have reverse!.
Please could you help out a aged numpty by suggesting a suitable setup and Please a link to them, I would be forever in your debt.
 
Len.
Logged

Subculture

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,905
  • Location: North London
    • Dive-in to Model submarines
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #12 on: November 04, 2012, 02:34:24 PM »

Do you know the size and pitch of propeller you want to use?

Big Ada

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,019
  • Location: Kent UK
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #13 on: November 04, 2012, 05:32:57 PM »

I can get a 55mm one on in the space.
 
Len.
Logged

Subculture

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,905
  • Location: North London
    • Dive-in to Model submarines
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #14 on: November 04, 2012, 05:47:43 PM »

I would say something around 1000KV on 3S lipo would give you a quick boat.

Here's a motor that should do the job easily-
 
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__16232__NTM_Prop_Drive_Series_35_48A_1100kv_640w.html

Forwards only ESC- http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__18462__Birdie_50A_Brushless_ESC_w_3A_BEC.html

A reversible controller. Reverse is only really useful as a brake in these kinds of models-

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__13445__HobbyKing_Brushless_Car_ESC_45A_w_Reverse.html

Big Ada

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,019
  • Location: Kent UK
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #15 on: November 04, 2012, 06:04:11 PM »

Thanks Sub,
That ESC with reverse, I couldnt get the video of it to work, is that a fan on it?, is it a plug in and go, or does it need setting up?, sorry about the daft questions mate.
Thanks.
 
Len.
Logged

Subculture

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,905
  • Location: North London
    • Dive-in to Model submarines
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #16 on: November 04, 2012, 06:08:26 PM »

I don't know if that controller is plug and play. Usually most controllers benefit from a bit of tweaking, the controller can be supplied with a programming card.

Yes it's a fan on there. It's a car esc, they're a lot cheaper than the marine types. If you want water cooling just run a couple of bits of pipe around the heatsink.

Stavros

  • Guest
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #17 on: November 04, 2012, 06:15:00 PM »

Bung a 900 motor in it water cool it run on 24v stick packs will last you well over 40 mins using the 55mm prop you have got far cheaper and the same power as the motors suggested
 
Dave
Logged

nick_75au

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 257
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
    • Logan City Marine Modellers
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #18 on: November 05, 2012, 05:50:51 AM »

Bung a 900 motor in it water cool it run on 24v stick packs will last you well over 40 mins using the 55mm prop you have got far cheaper and the same power as the motors suggested
 
Dave


But that's not brushless %)
Logged

richald

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,943
  • Retired and loving it!
  • Location: Driffield, East Yorks.
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #19 on: November 05, 2012, 07:44:37 AM »



Wasn't it George Orwell that said "two wires good, three wires better" ? ;D

Richard
Logged
Senior member of the OGG (Order of the Grumpy Gits)
Membership Number : 002

Subculture

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,905
  • Location: North London
    • Dive-in to Model submarines
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #20 on: November 05, 2012, 10:24:20 AM »

Bung a 900 motor in it, far cheaper
 
Dave

A 900 with a decent controller is going to rush you what 30-35? The set-up's I linked to are about 25-30.

Few years ago the price differential was high between the two technologies, but not any more.

For sporty/fast running applications, there's no contest between brushed motors and brushless. You have pretty much zero maintenance with a brushless motor, save for a drop of oil on the bearings now and again, they far cleaner electrically, are lighter, more efficient, run cooler and can deliver power outputs that brushed motors can only dream of.

Big Ada

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,019
  • Location: Kent UK
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #21 on: November 05, 2012, 05:16:21 PM »

I don't know if that controller is plug and play. Usually most controllers benefit from a bit of tweaking, the controller can be supplied with a programming card.

Yes it's a fan on there. It's a car esc, they're a lot cheaper than the marine types. If you want water cooling just run a couple of bits of pipe around the heatsink.

How would I use a Programming card?.
 
Len.
Logged

nick_75au

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 257
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
    • Logan City Marine Modellers
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #22 on: November 06, 2012, 11:58:57 AM »

Programming cards are specific to a series of ESC's so the Turnigy car  card wont program the turnigy aquastar series, so first you need the correct card for the ESC, then its as simple as plugging in the ESC to the card and 5 volts (usually from a receiver pack fro example) and either setting a series of jumpers or using a combination of menus accessed through buttons.


Its difficult to provide more specific info due to the many different cards but once you have the card its self explanatory.


Nick
Logged

Subculture

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,905
  • Location: North London
    • Dive-in to Model submarines
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #23 on: November 06, 2012, 01:51:11 PM »

You can usually program ESC's without a card, by using the transmitter sticks. It's a bit more fiddley though, so people tend to go for the cards.

Big Ada

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,019
  • Location: Kent UK
Re: Brushless motor for a Perkasa 48" long.
« Reply #24 on: January 16, 2013, 05:33:24 PM »

Hi

Vosper Perkasa set up 16.1.13 002 by LEN in Kent, on Flickr
 

Vosper Perkasa set up 16.1.13 003 by LEN in Kent, on Flickr
 
This is how far I have got, I know its not pretty, I did not build it!, I am tarting it up and hoping to surprise a few with its speed.
My questions for you are, as it needs a good bit of ballast I think I will use a Gel Cell Battery, looking at the size of the cable coming out of the ESC, will I be able to use one of the switches shown?. also can I add enough wire to fit the switch in that oblong hole at the bottom of the 1st photo?.
I had thought of using LIPOS, I have some, but Didn't I read somewhere about if you use different length wires you can cause problems?
 
Thanks,
 
Len.
 
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up