Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: inter net speed  (Read 3310 times)

regiment

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,719
  • Location: perranporth cornwall
inter net speed
« on: October 30, 2012, 08:06:12 PM »

 how dose one find out what speed the inter net is for a given area thanks
Logged

bikerdude999

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 522
  • Location: Corby, UK
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2012, 08:10:04 PM »

Do you want to know what speed you're getting or looking for an estimate from a potential company?


I use Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test to check my speed.
Logged

regiment

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,719
  • Location: perranporth cornwall
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2012, 08:44:18 PM »

 would like to know what speed i am getting or not.. very slow here in perranporth
Logged

bikerdude999

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 522
  • Location: Corby, UK
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2012, 08:48:12 PM »

Use the link in my post above and follow the instructions and it'll tell you your current speed.
Logged

richald

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,944
  • Retired and loving it!
  • Location: Driffield, East Yorks.
Re: Internet Speed
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2012, 09:31:43 PM »

My broadband download speed is a measly 1.9 mbps here in East Yorkshire

Am I right in assuming that, even if I switched broadband supplier the speed
wouldn't change much since they would all be using the same copper wire
and telephone exchange?.

I am discounting things like fibre optics connections since I guess we're unlikely
to get anything like that into our village during my lifetime!

Richard
Logged
Senior member of the OGG (Order of the Grumpy Gits)
Membership Number : 002

Tug-Kenny

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7,671
  • Location: Newport. S Wales
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2012, 09:43:10 PM »


Satellites any good for you up there in them hills.    :}


Ken

Logged
Despite the high cost of living   .......... It remains popular

richald

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,944
  • Retired and loving it!
  • Location: Driffield, East Yorks.
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2012, 09:50:54 PM »

Satellites any good for you up there in them hills.    :}


Ken

You'm talking to me Ken ? - we ain't got any hills round here, to the
south and east you can see (almost) all the way to Holland and Denmark
- I'm told they do 'ave a few hills Northside of Driffield tho!

Richard

Seriously though - what is there (if anything) in the way of internet over the
airwaves these days? - bearing in mind mobile signals are a bit flaky round
here anyway.
Logged
Senior member of the OGG (Order of the Grumpy Gits)
Membership Number : 002

Andyn

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 698
  • Location: UK
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2012, 10:04:43 PM »

Seriously though - what is there (if anything) in the way of internet over the
airwaves these days? - bearing in mind mobile signals are a bit flaky round
here anyway.


Sky experimented recently using the dishes to transmit and receive internet signals, and got an even 50mbps upload and download speed. Unfortunately they decided it'd not make them very much money and dropped the idea...
Logged

grendel

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,726
  • Location: Canterbury, Kent, UK
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #8 on: October 30, 2012, 10:08:54 PM »

while distance from the exchange can mean a slow connection, bt have upgraded a large amount of their network to fibre optic, this brings the distances down to the distance from your local bt pillar, here in Canterbury we were among t he last in the country to upgrade, only getting the faster network a few months ago.
that said as soon as the new fibre optics came on line our service degraded to a fraction of 1mb /s even bt's call centre admitted this was too slow. we had an engineer out who diagnosed that our router was now incompatible with the fibre optic system so gave us a new BT hub3.
then he mentioned that due to the problems bt had  limited our internet to less than 1Mb at the exchange, so its worth checking with your service provider.
if you go to the bt website I think you can punch in your postcode and it will tell you whether infinity is available for your area (basically if you are connected to a fibre optic link) and I recall it gives a speed range you should be able to achieve.
Grendel
Logged

Tug-Kenny

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7,671
  • Location: Newport. S Wales
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #9 on: October 30, 2012, 10:20:05 PM »


Hi Andy,

Yes, I was thinking of Sky.  There's a shame about them dropping it though.


Cheers

ken

Logged
Despite the high cost of living   .......... It remains popular

F4TCT

  • I am not completely useless.......I can always serve as a BAD example
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 535
  • Location: Whitby, North Yorkshire, UK
    • My Boat Builds
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #10 on: October 30, 2012, 10:25:23 PM »

I have a theory as far fetched as it may seem.


I have recently had constant access to virgins 60mb cable broadband and im both impressed and unimpressed.


Firstly, when its fast, its very fast indeed and its great.


However there's a good percentage of the time that its quite slow and has quite a lazy feel. Now i've looked around the street and there's not that many folks seemingly tied into the green box at the end of the road and so it can't be an issue of over crowding.


The network is massively capable and i've always been a fan of it.


The only way us folks can test our bandwidth is to use the likes of speedtest.net etc. However I have done tests when the Internets been a bit lazy and its still give me a 50mb+ speed and it just doesn't tally up with the experience online.


I have a theory where the virgin servers have filters and know that a user is accessing speedtest.net and are 'dumping connections' and transferring bandwidth to the user at that time, so that it appears to speedtest that you are actually running at full speed.


Dan  :police:
Logged

TheLongBuild

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 4,261
  • Build em, and play hard..
  • Location: Everywhere, But Nowhere !! But mainly in England....
    • Runcorn & District Scale Model Boats
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #11 on: October 30, 2012, 10:39:31 PM »

Would not surprise me, Just run another test and hit 64mb, .  To be honest for what I use 40mb is fine, just wish they would increase the upload to more than 3mb

F4TCT

  • I am not completely useless.......I can always serve as a BAD example
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 535
  • Location: Whitby, North Yorkshire, UK
    • My Boat Builds
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #12 on: October 30, 2012, 10:55:23 PM »

This upload is 22mb on this connection, it has hit 22mb on speedtest before but its usually less than 10mb.



uploads always been a let down on any connection.


Dan
Logged

essex2visuvesi

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6,134
  • Location: Finland, England, Finland!
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #13 on: October 31, 2012, 08:16:30 AM »

You also have to bear in mind the speed of the site you are accessing.  Popular sites such as youtube and facebook will be noticably slower at certain times of the day (High load times)
I have a uncapped direct fibre connection at home I can theoritcally get speeds of 1Gbps (I work for the local ISP) but rarely get it as most websites cannot supply the data fast enough.
Logged
One By One The Penguins Steal My Sanity
Proud member of the OAM  (Order of the Armchair Modeller)
Junior member of the OGG  (Order of the Grumpy Git)

tigertiger

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7,164
  • Location: Kunming, city of eternal springtime, SW China.
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #14 on: October 31, 2012, 08:32:17 AM »

I sometimes find it is my computer that is running slow.
Wireless can also slow you down. I don't know how this affects the speedcheck data.
Logged
The only stupid question is the one I didn't ask

F4TCT

  • I am not completely useless.......I can always serve as a BAD example
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 535
  • Location: Whitby, North Yorkshire, UK
    • My Boat Builds
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #15 on: October 31, 2012, 10:18:14 AM »

I realise about the other sides upload and im sure its not that.


The connection has a really bad habbit of seemingly going offline every now and then. Normally the bars in the task bar near your clock would change to one with a yellow sign over it or even go blank with an orange orb type thing there.


This doesnt, it stays on solid white bars but there is seemingly no internet going into the back of the router.


Really really frustrating.


My friends mother is on virgin 10mb and really you should be getting 10mb no matter what the time of day... We have done speed test after speedtest and its not even running at 1mb. Phoned virgin, they reset things and its fast for a short time and then it goes back to being slow.


Its a load of old pony if you ask me.  :police:
Logged

regiment

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,719
  • Location: perranporth cornwall
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #16 on: October 31, 2012, 10:48:38 AM »

  have just done a speed test came up with down load 5..2 mb  upload  0..3 mb what ever that means i live about 30 ft from the exchange   
Logged

NFMike

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,061
  • Location: Hythe, Hants, UK
    • Plague Marine Services
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #17 on: October 31, 2012, 11:41:56 AM »

By the standards of a few years ago that isn't very bad, so one thing to check is what you are actually paying for. If you have a contract for an "up to 8Mb" service I'd say you are in the ballpark. If you are paying for a 24Mb service it's not good.

But that is in the morning and could well drop at busy times, typically in the evening. That could be down to the size of pipe between Perranporth and the world which means you'll have to wait while the trunk gets an upgrade.

Who is your supplier?

essex2visuvesi

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6,134
  • Location: Finland, England, Finland!
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #18 on: October 31, 2012, 11:49:13 AM »

My parents are on Sky BB with just an 8Mb line.  Between 4pm and about 11pm its pretty dire but after these hours its normally up to about 7mb
Logged
One By One The Penguins Steal My Sanity
Proud member of the OAM  (Order of the Armchair Modeller)
Junior member of the OGG  (Order of the Grumpy Git)

F4TCT

  • I am not completely useless.......I can always serve as a BAD example
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 535
  • Location: Whitby, North Yorkshire, UK
    • My Boat Builds
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #19 on: October 31, 2012, 12:22:32 PM »

Internets just blipped out again. Speedtest says 3.5mb download and 1mb upload... supposed to be a 60mb line!
Logged

regiment

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,719
  • Location: perranporth cornwall
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #20 on: October 31, 2012, 12:41:02 PM »

  i am with bt and the old copper wires the same old wire since it was put up   regiment
Logged

essex2visuvesi

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6,134
  • Location: Finland, England, Finland!
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #21 on: October 31, 2012, 01:03:46 PM »

  i am with bt and the old copper wires the same old wire since it was put up   regiment

That could be your problem.... degraded copper lines

We used to have a problem here... the phone quality would be awful and the internet would be on and off every time it rained, turned out the sheilding on the phone line had degraded allow water to get in in damage the copper cores
Logged
One By One The Penguins Steal My Sanity
Proud member of the OAM  (Order of the Armchair Modeller)
Junior member of the OGG  (Order of the Grumpy Git)

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,617
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #22 on: October 31, 2012, 03:42:22 PM »

That could be your problem.... degraded copper lines

We used to have a problem here... the phone quality would be awful and the internet would be on and off every time it rained, turned out the sheilding on the phone line had degraded allow water to get in in damage the copper cores
Just so.  If you can't get a decent voice signal down the line, several MHz is going to have no chance.  There are checks built into the transmission system that often work - if one fails, it has another go, taking longer to pass the same amount of information.  So, if you use the same line to talk down as to internet, and its spluttering at you, thats the first thing to fix.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

Bob K

  • Bob K
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,701
  • Location: Windsor
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #23 on: October 31, 2012, 06:08:53 PM »

According to the BT Infinity web pages we should get around 49 Mbps at our Postcode.  Problem is we already have BT Infinity and only get around 3.8 Mbps.  Speed testers do vary a bit, but do show our speed is fairly typical in this area for users on BT Infinity.  So why is their website so deliberately missleading ?    Virgin users sometimes get up to 14 Mbps, other networks less than BT.
 
After installation, when we believed they were going to connect us to the BT box across the road, we found out later that our connection is actually copper wire to a BT box almost a mile away where the nearest fibre optic exists.
 
About time there was an Ombudsman to enforce truthful advertising.
Logged
HMS Skirmisher (1905), HMS Amazon (1906), HMS K9 (1915), Type 212A (2002), HMS Polyphemus (1881), Descartes (1897), Iggle Piggle boat (CBBC), HMS Royal Marine (1943), HMS Marshall Soult, HMS Agincourt (1912)

grendel

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,726
  • Location: Canterbury, Kent, UK
Re: inter net speed
« Reply #24 on: October 31, 2012, 06:44:12 PM »

phone up BT and tell them that you are paying for 49Mb but are only getting 3.8 and its not good enough - we were paying for up to 8 and getting 1 - they suspended the charges while they sorted it out. took a few sessions, but if they keep taking you through the same old routine just insist on talking to a manager. eventually if you are lucky you will get put through to the scottish call centre.
Grendel
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up