Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 150kv brushless motor  (Read 1685 times)

emeandy

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: uk
150kv brushless motor
« on: January 01, 2013, 06:32:07 PM »

Hi I'm looking at buying a turnigy 2s 5000 mah 40-50c and a turnigy 3s 5000 mah 40-50c so will be running total of 5cells, I'm running a 1500kv brushless motor and a dynamite 60amp esc would this set up work ok or would I need to modify anything? Thanks.
Logged

Subculture

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,904
  • Location: North London
    • Dive-in to Model submarines
Re: 150kv brushless motor
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2013, 06:54:41 PM »

Depends on the prop you're planning to use.

emeandy

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: uk
Re: 150kv brushless motor
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2013, 06:56:08 PM »

I was looking at the octura x445 prop.
Logged

Subculture

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,904
  • Location: North London
    • Dive-in to Model submarines
Re: 150kv brushless motor
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2013, 07:09:27 PM »

Okay so that's a 2.5" pitch prop. What's the size of the motor?

emeandy

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: uk
Re: 150kv brushless motor
« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2013, 07:11:18 PM »

It's a kv1500 motor
Logged

Subculture

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,904
  • Location: North London
    • Dive-in to Model submarines
Re: 150kv brushless motor
« Reply #5 on: January 01, 2013, 07:28:35 PM »

That's doesn't tell me much. A 1500kv motor can be 20mm diameter or 20omm. I want to know the diameter and depth of the motor.

debssnal

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 244
  • Location: kent
    • http://www.ateamboatyard.co.uk/
Re: 150kv brushless motor
« Reply #6 on: January 01, 2013, 07:30:35 PM »

What boat are you puting it in?????
Is the motor in or outrunner
What make and model is the motor
regards
Alan
Logged

emeandy

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: uk
Re: 150kv brushless motor
« Reply #7 on: January 01, 2013, 07:37:42 PM »

It's in a miss geico 29, it sais on the motor dynm3835 1500kv 6-pole.
Logged

Subculture

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,904
  • Location: North London
    • Dive-in to Model submarines
Re: 150kv brushless motor
« Reply #8 on: January 01, 2013, 07:47:47 PM »

This one?-

http://www.horizonhobby.com/products/DYNM3835?cm_mmc=BrandSiteReferral-_-PRB-_-ProductPage-_-DYNM3835#t1

Your motor and batteries are up to it. Little bit concerned about the ESC. If it's a true 60A continuous, then you should be okay. If the spec is optomisitic, you may need a controller with higher rating. Not exactly sure how much current your motor will pull, but would expect somehwere between 20-30A at full tilt. Make sure the watercooling is plumbed in.

emeandy

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: uk
Re: 150kv brushless motor
« Reply #9 on: January 01, 2013, 07:51:55 PM »

Yeah that's the motor I have, my esc is a Dynm 3815. Thanks.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up