Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: IC engine fuel  (Read 7723 times)

Pilot 10

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
IC engine fuel
« on: January 13, 2013, 08:27:10 pm »

Hi can any one tell me what fuel to use my engine is a MAX-H OS 40, i am extremely new to this so do i need to add oil to the fuel or will it come mixed? or no oil in the fuel?
many thanks

scoop

• Full Mayhemer
Re: IC engine fuel
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2013, 08:50:32 pm »

Hi can any one tell me what fuel to use my engine is a MAX-H OS 40, i am extremely new to this so do i need to add oil to the fuel or will it come mixed? or no oil in the fuel?
many thanks
Depends what you are using it for but most engine manufacturers these days recommend at least 20% oil, straight castor, semi-synthetic or a mixture, you also need to decide how much if any Nitro content you wish to use (Nitro increases the power output of the engine) go to www.modeltechnics.com where you will find different Nitro fuels and their contents, I use Supaglow 10 for my ASP 46M engine
Cheers
Scoop
BMPRS Secretary/Pro www.bmprs.co.uk
PS. There ain't no going back

Pilot 10

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2013, 08:52:11 pm »

thanks Scoop i'll have a look and order some.

bj

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2013, 07:39:04 pm »

thanks Scoop i'll have a look and order some.
[/quote

My experience of SiuperGlo is not good. Took out 4 conn rods in in 4 engines -  3 x SC, 1 x Irvine two years ago, so I reverted back to DuraGlo.
High castor is good but low synthetic if you feel the need to use a synthetic

essex2visuvesi

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2013, 05:14:12 am »

I always used modeltechnics techpower fuel in my IC planes
http://www.modeltechnics.com/glowfuel.htm

looking at their website the Bekra fuel looks interesting, the no mess option sounds tempting