Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hobby Engine Southampton replacement esc + rudders...  (Read 8753 times)

Dorset_josh

• Shipmate
Hobby Engine Southampton replacement esc + rudders...
« on: October 23, 2012, 09:25:53 am »

Hi all. This is my first post as I am a newbie to RC boats and Tugs in particular. I managed to get my self a completely standard as new Southampton Tug from gumtree for £40 with everything included. It's obviously a RTR but the radio gear and esc are pretty naff. I want to upgrade the ESC and am wondering what people's preferred ESC is? I have been in contact with the chap from Microgyros and he seems to have the forerunner at the moment which is the FR40. Anybody had any experience with one of these?

I want to keep it 2 channel with a single ESC rather than spend loads of money converting it to a 4ch. I have got myself a nice retro Futaba Attack 2ch tx and rx which will be fitted along with an upgraded 7.2v stick pack for extended running times. I am going to try and fashion some bigger rudders so any tips on this would be great. Thanks people,

Tug-Kenny RIP

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Hobby Engine Southampton replacement esc + rudders...
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2012, 10:28:35 am »

Hi Dorset Josh and welcome to Mayhem. We hope you enjoy your stay.   :-))

Regarding the modifications to your rudder, you might like to try your hand at 'Glassing' the existing one.  It will be  interesting and educational to slap on the glass fibre and and filler and then shaping it to suit yourself.

Don't forget that we love pictures on here and would love to see your progress.

Cheers

Ken

Despite the high cost of living   .......... It remains popular

Dorset_josh

• Shipmate
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2012, 10:43:57 am »