Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: f1 hornet  (Read 3371 times)

ajolly

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: hindley green bolton
f1 hornet
« on: March 20, 2013, 10:28:48 AM »

hi there is the hornet not best left stock running or does is have probs as stock boat , am new to boats thank :-)) s
Logged

gregk9

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Location: West Midlands
    • Chasewater Model Boat Club
Re: f1 hornet
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2013, 05:51:03 PM »

if not runing it "stock", you will need to upgrade the flexi drive or it wont take the extra torque.
the other thing to be aware of it the flexi needs to be cleaned and re oiled after each use to retain its flexibility and prevent rust forming in its core.
i bought on eof these boats secondhand and it too me some time to get it setup to get the best out of it, its a much happier hull on calmer water than on choppy, does not tend to lift the nose up too much then.
Logged
Best wishes.

Steve. G.
Treasurer & Membership Secretary:  Chasewater Model Boat Club
http://chasewatermbc.blogspot.com/

ajolly

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: hindley green bolton
Re: f1 hornet
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2013, 09:38:50 PM »

Thanks for your info mine is a stock out of box boat  just waitin for tx from hobbyking then can try it
Logged

gregk9

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Location: West Midlands
    • Chasewater Model Boat Club
Re: f1 hornet
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2013, 07:00:44 PM »

An 11.1v lipo, 5000 mahr pack suits mine just fine, just about the right weight too. last approx 15 mins if not on permanent full throttle!
be careful of heavy throttle when you power off from a standing start, too much and the nose flips up very easily, too much and its on its back before you know it, so remember to bond some polystyrene foam to the inside top of the removeable cover for flotation.
Logged
Best wishes.

Steve. G.
Treasurer & Membership Secretary:  Chasewater Model Boat Club
http://chasewatermbc.blogspot.com/

ajolly

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: hindley green bolton
Re: f1 hornet
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2013, 07:16:40 PM »

thanks greg  still not got tx for it yet from hobby king, were did you get your foam from,i have rerouted the outlet water pipe to side of the couling and the other one so its more straight for the cooling
Logged

gregk9

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Location: West Midlands
    • Chasewater Model Boat Club
Re: f1 hornet
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2013, 05:02:04 PM »

i used some packing foam thats came inside a parcel that arrived at home.  Even some ploystyrene foam block/strip can be shaped and bonded in place, but aids bouyancy if it ever goes inverted, plus saves the water making it in to the hull and electrics, or worse still, in to the battery !
Logged
Best wishes.

Steve. G.
Treasurer & Membership Secretary:  Chasewater Model Boat Club
http://chasewatermbc.blogspot.com/

F1 madness

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 416
  • Location: Staffordshire
Re: f1 hornet
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2013, 07:43:15 PM »

If you running stock out the box get yourself another esc as they burn out quick sometimes not even a full 1st run
The flexi is 3.2 mm and wont take much power to snap,they break where the round part of the flexi meets the square into the stub shaft a quality teflon grease is all youll need
If you want to upgrade youll need to find some1 who can make you 4mm flexi with the square ends remove the teflon liner as these are junk and run a thinwalled brass tube instead bent to match the curve/profile of the moulded section inside,after every run remove the flexi and clean off with wd40 and leave it a thin oil then regrease before putting it back in to run
thats the best way to run these and maintain them
Logged

ajolly

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: hindley green bolton
Re: f1 hornet
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2013, 08:58:12 PM »

thanks for your info , whats the best esc to buy that will fit the boat , is there a flexi shaft to buy to swop it , dont now anyone that could make one ,
Logged

F1 madness

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 416
  • Location: Staffordshire
Re: f1 hornet
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2013, 09:22:25 PM »

No probs unfortunately there isnt
you want a 120 esc that will be fine with the standard motor and an upgraded 1 aswell swordfish are the best esc's the turnigys are un reliable as the LVC doesnt work like it should and can be a hassle to get right
as for making 1 i dont know i made my own using a OS shaft and modding it to fit but involved changing the coupler on the motor as they are too long to fit inside

Logged

ajolly

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: hindley green bolton
Re: f1 hornet
« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2013, 09:26:00 PM »

I AM NEW TO THIS SPORT ,WERE CAN I BUY THE ESC FROM  AND THE PARTS TO UPGRADE THE SHAFT  AND NEW JOINT TO MOTOR
Logged

ajolly

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: hindley green bolton
Logged

F1 madness

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 416
  • Location: Staffordshire
Re: f1 hornet
« Reply #11 on: March 22, 2013, 09:54:41 PM »

this is the best place and cheapest
Radio Control Boats and Parts | Performance Models


stay away from cheap esc'c they end up costing more in the long run just buy 1 quality 1
i tried several cheap esc's and they didnt last long worked out i spent more on cheappo's then buy a decent 1 to start with
Logged

ajolly

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: hindley green bolton
Re: f1 hornet
« Reply #12 on: March 22, 2013, 09:57:13 PM »

whats there web site tar
Logged

ajolly

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: hindley green bolton
Re: f1 hornet
« Reply #13 on: March 24, 2013, 11:53:16 AM »

is that the web site , performance models
Logged

F1 madness

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 416
  • Location: Staffordshire
Re: f1 hornet
« Reply #14 on: March 24, 2013, 12:44:05 PM »

yeah i posted a link for you here it is again
the other thing to consider is change the OB for a more reliable 1 and 1 you can get the parts for easier

http://www.performancemodels.co.uk/
Logged

ajolly

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: hindley green bolton
Re: f1 hornet
« Reply #15 on: March 24, 2013, 12:50:01 PM »

thanks for the link ,  :-))
Logged

Lancejsy

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
  • How much!!
  • Location: Jersey in the channel Islands
    • jerseymodelboats
Re: f1 hornet
« Reply #16 on: May 09, 2013, 06:34:48 PM »

Hello ajolly and F1 madness. I have a Hornet and it went well for a while until the flexi snapped. I am now fitting a ProBoat  stiletto outboard  as it is the only way to easily get replacement parts. I got mine from RCboyz in the USA as it was cheaper to ship to Jersey then it was just to buy one in the UK without shipping. You can also  get a Thunder tiger outboard which will fit but you must replace the ESC with 120A plus to cope with the extra toque. Its a lot of money to lay out on a cheap boat but will be well worth it as the extra power will make it fly. I will post some pictures when I get my new 6 pole 1800kv up and running. Ask any question here as this is where you will get the best advice NOT the HK forums. I hope some of this helps you bud as we all learn the hard way on your own.
Lance


 :-)) :-))
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up