Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Help please with inline toggle switchs and fuses  (Read 3455 times)

paul gutteridge

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Great barr birmingham
Help please with inline toggle switchs and fuses
« on: March 20, 2013, 07:32:29 PM »

Hi all I'm trying to wire up my smitt rotterdam tug speed controlers are in viper 15 twin
Plus twin motors 919d series geared
Running off a 6v 10 ah lead cell battery
But need to wire a inline toddle switch and inline fuse
As my knowledge of wiring is very little
Can anyone help with a diagram please.
Logged

Stavros

  • Guest
Re: Help please with inline toddle switch and fuse
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2013, 07:40:48 PM »

Are you using 2 speed controllers or just 1
 
Dave
 
Logged

paul gutteridge

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Great barr birmingham
Re: Help please with inline toddle switch and fuse
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2013, 08:10:36 PM »

I'm using two viper 15s speed controlers
From mtronics
Logged

john44

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,374
  • member of the Potteries Model boat club
Re: Help please with inline toddle switch and fuse
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2013, 08:20:55 PM »

Is the inline toggle switch for the Rx circuit?
You will have to remove a red wire from one of the viper plugs.
Are you running the motors on both sticks or just 1?

john
Logged

paul gutteridge

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Great barr birmingham
Re: Help please with inline toddle switch and fuse
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2013, 08:32:33 PM »

Toggle switch is for the live red wire coming from the battery to the switch toggle the switch has three connectors coming off it
Am I correct in that a red wire from positive side of battery to a inline fuse to switch and another red wire from other terminal of switch to positive side of speed controllers and a negative wire then from battery to negative side of speed controllers.
Is this correct ?
Logged

john44

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,374
  • member of the Potteries Model boat club
Re: Help please with inline toggle switchs and fuses
« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2013, 09:23:01 PM »

Is it a toggle switch or a slide switch?re:- 3 connections?Is it center off?
Will it be rated to carry the load? A photo would help

john
Logged

Stavros

  • Guest
Re: Help please with inline toggle switchs and fuses
« Reply #6 on: March 20, 2013, 09:44:43 PM »

you only need a 2 way switch
 
Remove ONE red wire from ONE of the speed controllers......The small ones going into the reciever
Batt To switch to fuse to speed controller
Speed controller to fuse to motor....you will defo need protection as those speed controllers are NOTORIOUS for catching FIRE
 
You DO NOT NEED A SEP BATT FOR THE RECIEVER .....as the speed controllers  allready have a Bec circuit...Which means that they provide a power for the reciver.
 
You will need to use a Y lead to join both the  speed controller to reciever wires together.
 
 
Dave
 
Logged

Martin [Admin]

  • Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18,939
  • Location: Peterborough, UK
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: Help please with inline toggle switchs and fuses
« Reply #7 on: March 20, 2013, 10:15:00 PM »

:police:  Not notorious Stavros, well no more than other ESC that are abused in the same way!  <*<
Logged
"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!"    -   Mayhem FaceBook Group!

essex2visuvesi

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6,146
  • Location: Finland, England, Finland!
Re: Help please with inline toggle switchs and fuses
« Reply #8 on: March 20, 2013, 10:48:59 PM »

you will need to completely disconnect the red wire from one speed controller otherwise you will overload the receiver
Logged
One By One The Penguins Steal My Sanity
Proud member of the OAM  (Order of the Armchair Modeller)
Junior member of the OGG  (Order of the Grumpy Git)

Peter Fitness

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6,812
  • Location: Wyrallah, near Lismore NSW Australia
Re: Help please with inline toggle switchs and fuses
« Reply #9 on: March 21, 2013, 10:21:19 PM »

Definitely not notorious for catching fire <*<  I have about 10 of them and some are 6 or 7 years old with lots of use and I have never had any sort of problem with them.


Peter.
Logged

Stavros

  • Guest
Re: Help please with inline toggle switchs and fuses
« Reply #10 on: March 21, 2013, 10:49:01 PM »

Well I am so SORRY to disagree with you guys.Having had to rescue my fair share of models that have stopped due to the Evil Black smoke......I know of 1 boat that caught fire on Llanberis laek and is now in the depths of the lake.I have also seen a fair share of then fail at Wickstead Park lake on Mayhem events.....Martin even gave someone an award last year as it blew up in front of him.I have had at least 4 of them fail on me and NO I wasnt abusing them either,as I allways use esc that are bigger than needed.
 
So sorry for dissagreeing with Moderators on this but I do strongly dissagree......Everyone has a right to their own opinions,Why not read this and it will explain to you hwy they burst into flames,baisically it is heat that causes it
 
http://www.action-electronics.co.uk/pdfs/BEC.pdf
 
 
Dave
Logged

Peter Fitness

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6,812
  • Location: Wyrallah, near Lismore NSW Australia
Re: Help please with inline toggle switchs and fuses
« Reply #11 on: March 22, 2013, 01:09:14 AM »

You are quite right, Dave, everyone does have a right to their own opinions. However, it seems to me that if someone expresses an opinion that does not coincide with yours, you immediately shoot them down. I am not disputing the fact that you have had experience of the ESCs in question failing, at least one spectacularly, I am merely telling of my experience with them which, so far, has been good.


The sum total of my knowledge of electronics could be written on a 1p coin with a broad tipped felt pen, so I would not dream of arguing with anyone who has knowledge of the "Black Art". I would also encourage people to take note of acknowledged electronics experts such as Dave Milbourn, and others, whose advice should be listened to carefully when wiring a model boat.


Peter.
Logged

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,532
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: Help please with inline toggle switchs and fuses
« Reply #12 on: March 22, 2013, 10:51:50 AM »

I've got to say, I have killed a pair of mtronics, but it was my own fault in both cases.  Forgetting that an ESC is only rated for 8.4 volts and connecting it to a 12 volt battery is a bad idea.  Swapping batteries and talking to someone and getting power crossed is another effective way of letting the smoke out.  Due to their compact dimensions, there is little margin for error, and I don't think anybody has perfected an overcurrent protection system to guard against an internal problem. 
Any scale boat carrying a battery bigger than a couple of AH should be fused, no matter what ESC is fitted.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

tt1

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,756
  • If I only know a little - then I can learn a lot
  • Location: Leicestershire
Re: Help please with inline toggle switchs and fuses
« Reply #13 on: March 22, 2013, 05:13:37 PM »

Hello Malcolm, having very little knowledge in the black art, what esc's do modellers use when powering from batteries 12v and above?   I currently have a model wired up for 12volts using a 15amp mtronics esc  :o
                      Regards, Tony.
Logged

Netleyned

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8,945
  • Location: Meridian Line, Mouth of the Humber
    • cleethorpes mba
Re: Help please with inline toggle switchs and fuses
« Reply #14 on: March 22, 2013, 05:24:47 PM »

All the current mtroniks escs for marine use are OK on twelve volts.

Ned
Logged
Smooth seas never made skilful sailors
Up Spirits  Stand fast the Holy Ghost.
http://www.cleethorpesmba.co.uk/

tt1

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,756
  • If I only know a little - then I can learn a lot
  • Location: Leicestershire
Re: Help please with inline toggle switchs and fuses
« Reply #15 on: March 22, 2013, 05:38:36 PM »

Phew! Thanks Ned :-))
Logged

john44

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,374
  • member of the Potteries Model boat club
Re: Help please with inline toggle switchs and fuses
« Reply #16 on: March 22, 2013, 06:11:53 PM »

Hi Tony.
the only Mtronics ESC to be careful of (voltage wise) are the Viper RV11
They are rated at :- 4.8-9.6volts  not 12v

john
Logged

Netleyned

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8,945
  • Location: Meridian Line, Mouth of the Humber
    • cleethorpes mba
Re: Help please with inline toggle switchs and fuses
« Reply #17 on: March 22, 2013, 06:20:49 PM »

 All the car controller range the RVs Pecos and tempos are
4.8 to 9.6 volt input.Also the Viper oval
The Viper marine Viper truck and Viper SSR
are 6 to 12 volt.

Ned
Logged
Smooth seas never made skilful sailors
Up Spirits  Stand fast the Holy Ghost.
http://www.cleethorpesmba.co.uk/

inertia

  • Guest
Re: Help please with inline toddle switch and fuse
« Reply #18 on: March 22, 2013, 06:59:55 PM »

Toggle switch is for the live red wire coming from the battery to the switch toggle the switch has three connectors coming off it
Am I correct in that a red wire from positive side of battery to a inline fuse to switch and another red wire from other terminal of switch to positive side of speed controllers and a negative wire then from battery to negative side of speed controllers.
Is this correct ?
Yes - irrespective of what type of speed controller you have. If the switch has 3 connections then use the center one and either of the others.
(I bet you'd given up waiting for an answer).
DM
Logged

Stan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,277
  • Location: Leeds
Re: Help please with inline toggle switchs and fuses
« Reply #19 on: March 22, 2013, 08:37:58 PM »

HI Paul. Hope to send you a drawing on Monday hope it will help.
 
 
Stan
Logged

inertia

  • Guest
Re: Help please with inline toggle switchs and fuses
« Reply #20 on: March 23, 2013, 08:42:34 AM »

Logged

Stan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,277
  • Location: Leeds
Re: Help please with inline toggle switchs and fuses
« Reply #21 on: March 23, 2013, 08:51:44 AM »

Thanks Dave.
 
Stan.
Logged

chris_suffolk

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
  • Fun building Resolve tug
  • Location: suffolk
Re: Help please with inline toggle switchs and fuses
« Reply #22 on: March 31, 2013, 07:22:43 PM »

When I bought my Mtronics Viper 20's, I checked with the manufacturers because it says 12v, and a fully charged lead acid will be over that - may be 13v in some cases. I was assurred they have a degree of tolerance, and a newly charged 12v will not cause a problem. Hope that helps someone

Chris
Logged

Stan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,277
  • Location: Leeds
Re: Help please with inline toggle switchs and fuses
« Reply #23 on: April 01, 2013, 07:35:16 PM »

Golden rule for any battery that has just been taken off charge.  Let it stand for a while and the voltage will drop back. Hope this helps.
 
Stan.
Logged

chris_suffolk

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
  • Fun building Resolve tug
  • Location: suffolk
Re: Help please with inline toggle switchs and fuses
« Reply #24 on: April 01, 2013, 07:49:14 PM »

Thanks Stan,

I wasn't saying it was in issue, just trying to let people know that the Vipers will deal with more than 12v. Hope it came across like that

Chris
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up