Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: HMS Neptune 1941  (Read 1824 times)

Aitch

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
HMS Neptune 1941
« on: April 29, 2013, 05:46:24 pm »

Hi everyone, My name is Brian and I would like some help on a project that I am about to start. My father-in-law is the only known surviving crewmember from HMS Neptune that was sank off the coast of Malta in 1941. All hands but 1 were lost after the tragedy but luckerly my father-in-law along with five other crewmembers were sent ashore for some r&r and supplies and whilst ashore the ship was called out to intercept an enemy convoy. They were replaced by New Zealanders who went down with the ship. My Father-in-law is now 91. As a tribute to both him and his lost comrades I am building a 1/96 scale model of the ship from plans but I have never built a model ship before and I would be grateful for any help you guys culd give me. It will be a static model made mostly from balsa and plastic sheet. Please help. Many thanks. Brian.

Colin Bishop

• Full Mayhemer
Re: HMS Neptune 1941
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2013, 07:02:26 pm »

Have a look at this build of HMS Ajax, a sister ship, on the Model Boats Website.

http://www.modelboats.co.uk/news/article/hms-ajax/15066

Colin

raflaunches

• Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • The Penguins are coming!!!
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2013, 08:00:40 pm »

Hi Brian

Welcome to the Mayhem!  :-))  You'll hopefully find everything you need somewhere on here!
From my memory I remember that HMS Neptune was a Leander class Light Cruiser, sister ship to HMS Achilles, Ajax, Leander, Orion, etc. They were all armed with 6inch guns.