Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: wire  (Read 1581 times)

regiment

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,697
  • Location: perranporth cornwall
wire
« on: May 23, 2013, 01:02:04 PM »

  ordered the battry today from componets shop for got to order extra long servo wire  is it ok to cut the wire and solder a piece of extra wire in then replace the the other piece to make it longer    thanks regiment
Logged

barriew

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2,009
  • Location: Thaxted, Essex
Re: wire
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2013, 01:14:10 PM »

YES!


Barrie
Logged

regiment

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,697
  • Location: perranporth cornwall
Re: wire
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2013, 01:27:26 PM »

  thanks for reply 
Logged

essex2visuvesi

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6,146
  • Location: Finland, England, Finland!
Re: wire
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2013, 04:30:57 PM »

The servo leads in my 1:6Fokker DR1 are almost 3 foot long, tho I would suggest fitting ferrite rings if you go over a 2 foot of lead length
Logged
One By One The Penguins Steal My Sanity
Proud member of the OAM  (Order of the Armchair Modeller)
Junior member of the OGG  (Order of the Grumpy Git)

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,568
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: wire
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2013, 10:57:09 PM »

  ordered the battry today from componets shop for got to order extra long servo wire  is it ok to cut the wire and solder a piece of extra wire in then replace the the other piece to make it longer    thanks regiment
Just make sure you get it colour for colour at both ends.  Been there, got the tee shirt, eaten the pie.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

irishcarguy

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,374
  • Happiness is running from a grizzly and escaping
  • Location: Calgary N. W. Alberta, Canada
    • Britishcars International. org.
Re: wire
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2013, 06:34:46 AM »

Excuse me being so dense but I have no idea what the ferrite rings are used for . I would make a wild guess & assume it has something to do with a magnetic field around the wires, but I have been wrong lots of times before & may be wrong now too. Thank you Essex for raising the point, I may still learn something yet today, apart from the fact that a broken/fractured wrist is very painful, & yes it is the left one again. This has not been a good year.Mick B.
Logged
Mick B.

sparkey

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,228
  • I think I am as mad as I think I am then I am mad
  • Location: wandsworth
Re: wire
« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2013, 08:54:18 AM »

 :-)) Your not the only one mick I have no idea, must be the magnetic field as you say,we all learn something every day on here,Ray.
Logged
My boats are all wood like my head fluctuat nec mergitur

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,568
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: wire
« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2013, 10:18:49 AM »

The trick with toroidal ferrite rings is to thread the cable not just through the hole in the middle, but to make several turns.  Each turn needs to be laid neatly alongside the next, leaving a gap about twice the thickness of the ferrite between start and finish.  It stops any RF picked up by the length of wire from getting into whatever it is plugged into by making a choke.  If you look at printer/scanner leads, you often see a blob - theres one such in there.  There's also parasitic beads, which do something like the same job, but with a lot less turns, sometimes just a straight pass through.  Both arrangements use the magnetic field changes that changing current generates to counteract the current, but they only do this for high frequencies.
1.25" ones were quite effective at keeping HAM radio transmissions out of telephones when it was remembered to keep it tidy and not let the gap close.  It does lose quite a bit of length of wire - worth remembering when buying a long wire.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

Corposant

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,613
  • Location: Hampshire UK
Re: wire
« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2013, 02:13:02 PM »

I note that servo connectors are now offered with twisted leads - presumably to achieve the same effect. Which would be the best option - twisted leads or ferrite rings?

Mike
Logged

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,568
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: wire
« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2013, 02:53:53 PM »

Twisted is better than flat for cutting interference, but I could never quite figure out how 3 unwanted signals could be equal and opposite to cancel out.  2, yes, 3, ???  The only phone cords I used the ferrite rings on were on electronic phones, which invariably had flat cord, the older, pre "electronic" ones tended to use twisted or braided, but were not as liable to interference in the first place.  No semiconductors to resolve the unwanted signal and the amplify it.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

Corposant

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,613
  • Location: Hampshire UK
Re: wire
« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2013, 07:41:16 PM »

Malcolm

Many thanks for your reply. Ferrite rings have it! Thanks too for your explanation.

Mike


Logged

irishcarguy

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,374
  • Happiness is running from a grizzly and escaping
  • Location: Calgary N. W. Alberta, Canada
    • Britishcars International. org.
Re: wire
« Reply #11 on: May 25, 2013, 07:20:05 AM »

Thank you Malcolm, once again the forum comes to our aid & the very clever & nice people on here that share their knowledge with us all. In particular Malcolm who is always ready to help. Mick B.
Logged
Mick B.

essex2visuvesi

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6,146
  • Location: Finland, England, Finland!
Re: wire
« Reply #12 on: May 25, 2013, 06:18:15 PM »

All I know is the Fokker servos were a little twitchy without them, and with them they aren't :)
Old boy at the flying field suggested them
Logged
One By One The Penguins Steal My Sanity
Proud member of the OAM  (Order of the Armchair Modeller)
Junior member of the OGG  (Order of the Grumpy Git)
Pages: [1]   Go Up