Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: V tail mixers on brushless set-up  (Read 1031 times)

john44

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,388
  • member of the Potteries Model boat club
V tail mixers on brushless set-up
« on: July 11, 2013, 01:05:30 PM »

Hi guys, I tried to use a v tail mixer on my 2 motor brushless set up,
the hobyking ESCs did not like it at all, I guess they didnt get the correct
signals from the mixer they just went haywire, going back into set-up mode
going forward and reverse on their own.
Has anyone been able to set up brushless motors through a v tail mixer
or are they not compatable with brushless ESCs.
I removed the mixer and wired them through a Y lead to the Rx they work
perfectly. {:-{

john
Logged

Martin [Admin]

  • Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19,056
  • Location: Peterborough, UK
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: V tail mixers on brushless set-up
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2013, 01:09:41 PM »


What V-tail mixer are you using?
TX or separate unit? ( If separate, what make? )
Logged
"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!"    -   Mayhem FaceBook Group!

Stavros

  • Guest
Re: V tail mixers on brushless set-up
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2013, 06:00:52 PM »

Pm Alan Debsnal he uses v tail mixers on his



Dave
Logged

john44

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,388
  • member of the Potteries Model boat club
Re: V tail mixers on brushless set-up
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2013, 08:44:10 PM »

Hi Martin, Stavros,
All together I have tried 4 different seperate units, 2 Mtroniks1 just says mixer
the other is their tank mixer, I have also tried 2 airoplane v tail mixers,all were
out of sink with the Hobbyking 90amp brushless ESC,s( would not set up).
I have since put them on their own sticks, soI will use the mixers on brushed
ESC,s they are o/k on them. I think it is the make of ESC,s I am using very
temperamental methinks.

john
Logged

essex2visuvesi

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6,146
  • Location: Finland, England, Finland!
Re: V tail mixers on brushless set-up
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2013, 08:50:13 PM »

are these brushless escs forwards only?
Logged
One By One The Penguins Steal My Sanity
Proud member of the OAM  (Order of the Armchair Modeller)
Junior member of the OGG  (Order of the Grumpy Git)

Stavros

  • Guest
Re: V tail mixers on brushless set-up
« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2013, 08:57:27 PM »

I have 2 Robbie fwd/rev No double click to rev I have tried an ACTion Mixer and that wouldnt work.....Tim Wombat was lakeside when I tried it and as he said and ttoally confused >com me....which isnt difficult lol If memory serves me right it was something to do with the pulse of the signal....Maybee Dave Milbs can clarify it !!!!.
I KNOW FOR A fact THAT Alan Debsnall has used I think an Mtronics Vtail mixer with success


Dave
Logged

john44

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,388
  • member of the Potteries Model boat club
Re: V tail mixers on brushless set-up
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2013, 10:33:00 PM »

It would not work on mine Dave,
I dont think Alan has used Hobbyking brushless ESC,s I could be wrong.
as you say I think they sent the wrong pulse signal to my ESC,s
They are the marine version with reverse.
I will leave them on Right and left sticks for now.
As long as MY pulse keeps going I can live with that {-) {-) {-)

john
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up