Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hi everybody  (Read 1384 times)

Captain black

• Shipmate
  • Blackjack 29
Hi everybody
« on: July 26, 2013, 11:49:06 pm »

Hello, I am new here and to boats, I have been flying quads for a couple of years. My cousin and I have now bought a couple of boats for the local lake. My cousin has a Miss Geico 17 and I went mad and got a Blackjack 29. We will be taking them to the lake in the next few days for our first outing. But before we do I thought I would join this forum to see if anybody had any tips or info on prepping them before we put them on the water or should we just go ahead. We have purchased some Sellotape crystal clear for sealing the hatch but do we need to do anything else? Thanks in advance for any shared info.

derekwarner

• Full Mayhemer
Derek Warner

Honorary Secretary [Retired]
Illawarra Live Steamers Co-op
Australia
www.ils.org.au

Martin (Admin)

• Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: Hi everybody
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2013, 03:32:38 am »

You should already have a good stock of batteries and a good charger from your Quadcopters.
Make sure everything in the drive train is secured and lubricated.
Propeller nut on tight but not binding the drive train.
stuff some 'bubble wrap' into voids of the boat for flotation.
Glue some foam / flotation to the hatch in case it blows off.
If the radio has the facility, dial in 'Dual rates' for the rudder. ( You need very little rudder at high speeds!)
Run only in a place where you can get the boat back if anything goes wrong, ie. not a river or lake where you can't get to one side!
Don't be too conservative or too aggressive on your first run, try a few seconds at full speed but only in a straight line.

Just a few thoughts and hard learned lessons....
Oh, and Welcome to the Mayhem!

Martin  :-)