Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: running a brushless motor  (Read 1204 times)

irishcarguy

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,374
  • Happiness is running from a grizzly and escaping
  • Location: Calgary N. W. Alberta, Canada
    • Britishcars International. org.
running a brushless motor
« on: September 10, 2013, 03:59:52 AM »

Can someone tell me if it is possible to run a brushless motor without the aid of a ESC wired to it & if so how ?. I have never messed with brushless & am thinking of giving it a go. Mick B.
Logged
Mick B.

kinmel

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 668
  • Colwyn Bay M.B.C.
  • Location: Conwy, in sunny north Wales
Re: running a brushless motor
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2013, 06:52:16 AM »

Can someone tell me if it is possible to run a brushless motor without the aid of a ESC wired to it & if so how ?. I have never messed with brushless & am thinking of giving it a go. Mick B.

In a word - no.

Power is fed to each wire in sequence and theoretically one wire has current running through it while the other two don't and power is cycling between them so fast that you could not possibly achieve it without an esc.

Don't let that stop you though, the programming options give you much more control of how the motors perform.
Logged

boatmadman

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,721
  • Location: South Cumbria
Re: running a brushless motor
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2013, 11:25:59 AM »

In another word, no again.


Brushless motors are 3 phase ac motors, brushed motors are dc motors. Batteries are dc, so the esc not only controls the motor speed, it also converts the dc from the battery to ac for the motor - clever little blighters arent they!!!!
Logged
if at first you dont succeed.....have a beer.....

irishcarguy

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,374
  • Happiness is running from a grizzly and escaping
  • Location: Calgary N. W. Alberta, Canada
    • Britishcars International. org.
Re: running a brushless motor
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2013, 03:11:38 PM »

Thanks guys I kind of suspected that was the case but since I live far away from people that mess with this stuff all the time I knew someone would set me straight, thanks again, Mick B.
Logged
Mick B.

Subculture

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,915
  • Location: North London
    • Dive-in to Model submarines
Re: running a brushless motor
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2013, 09:53:58 AM »

Brushless controllers don't have inverters in them, they chop the DC for speed control purposes, and electronically commutate.

If you want to have a play, just get an inexpensive brushless ESC and motor. You can easily pick-up a forwards only combo (motor and ESC) for under 10.
Pages: [1]   Go Up