Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Info and advice required on tug boat  (Read 2238 times)

Bogo

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Info and advice required on tug boat
« on: September 16, 2013, 09:27:08 pm »

Hi there folks hopefully I'm posting this in the correct section.

I bought a preformed plastic tug boat kit (possibly SHG models ) and looking for info and pictures of this model. I bought it for the grand sum of £20 and it came with a viper micro marine 10 speed controller 2 MFA re380 motors and zebra servo working 2 kort nozzles.
 So my first questions would be what voltage of battery should I use?     I was thinking 6v but as I'm fairly new to model boating I think asking is the better option than guessing.

2nd question is the speed controller suitable for running the 2 motors?

Here's a photo of the boat as I said possibily a boat from SHG models so any info and photos greatly recieved

Tug-Kenny RIP

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Info and advice required on tug boat
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2013, 10:54:27 am »

It's not a good idea to run two motors on one speed controller because they may run at different speeds and also draw more current than it's designed for.

Hope this helps

Ken

Despite the high cost of living   .......... It remains popular

LarryW

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2013, 12:52:13 pm »

Hi
        this boat will very well on a single motor set up , 7.5 battery single kort  so if motors are not fitted just use 1 ....
 i have two boats with this set up a charlot tug and a guardsman, plenty of running time
                         cheers Larry..
never pass a skip

Bogo

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2013, 05:45:46 pm »