Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hello shipmates  (Read 1497 times)

Maverickuk01

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is just what I have been looking
Hello shipmates
« on: December 06, 2012, 07:43:33 am »

Hello shipmates. My name is Nigel I am 65 years old living in Cheshire and retired from my "proper" job I still continue my hobby as a singer raising money for my local Air Ambulance. I have previously built a radio controlled truck and a tank. For my next project I am considering the Precedent 49" Perkasa MTB. If anyone has built this please give me the lowdown. I have no experience of "marine" construction so I may be requiring some assistance along the way. Thank you for making me feel so welcome. :-))

Martin (Admin)

• Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: Hello shipmates
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2012, 09:31:27 am »

Greetings Nigel!

Welcome to the Mayhem.... not a bad bunch of blocks on here.....
 ..... but I wouldn't want to spend any time in goal with any of them!  {-)

So your real job is a singer... and clips of you on Utube?

The Precedent 49" Perkasa MTB is big project for you first boat kit! Not impossible by any means
 but there will be quite a few new disciplines to be learnt , fibre glassing, shaft alignment, motor,
 battery, speed controller choices, multiple glues and paints, etc. etc.

...... now this is just a suggestion, but an easier or simpler kit might give you a more
encouraging introduction into the world of model boat. How about buying a cheap or 'almost
ready to float', ( ARTF ), or a plastic conversion kit (eg. Revell Corvette)  which gets you on
the water in a reasonably short time. This usually pays huge dividend long term. Big project,
such as the  Precedent Perkasa has lead to some to frustration and disappointment due to the