Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: DIY RC switch?  (Read 958 times)

Daedalus62

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Cascais - Portugal
DIY RC switch?
« on: November 06, 2013, 03:01:06 PM »

Hi all,

Surely this is posted somewhere else but, being a complete noob, please bear with me... %) %)

Anyone built this simple switch?... http://www.ef-uk.net/data/rc-switch.htm

Looks like a pretty straightforward build... Having some (very!!) basic knowledge on electronics and a junk box full of leftover components, think I'll give it a try...

Cheers :-))
Logged

Subculture

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,888
  • Location: North London
    • Dive-in to Model submarines
Re: DIY RC switch?
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2013, 05:39:49 PM »

Built one very similar to that, and they work just fine if all you want is a simple on-off function.

Daedalus62

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Cascais - Portugal
Re: DIY RC switch?
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2013, 08:28:00 PM »

 :-))

Perfect... Guess that, if wanting to active something in the boat like a sound module, a water pump, etc (always paying attention to the FET amp load, of course), that's all it takes... KISS principle. ok2

Cheers  :-))
Logged

seagate

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
Re: DIY RC switch?
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2013, 12:52:50 PM »

Bear in mind that it's a momentary type, i.e., it only remains on when the signal is above a certain value. It's fine for whistle sounds, etc., but, if you're using a channel with a stick, then for motors etc., you'll need a latching type.

By moving a jumper link, this one can operate as either latching or momentary: [size=78%]http://www.technobotsonline.com/rc-switch.html[/size]
Logged

Daedalus62

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Cascais - Portugal
Re: DIY RC switch?
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2013, 02:34:21 PM »

 :-))

Thanks for the heads up... I intend to use it in an all-or-nothing channel...  I made the "add-a-5th-channel" mod to my prehistoric Skysport 4, connecting a toggle switch.

BTW, did anyone here convert one of these old relics (Skysport 4) to 2.4 ghz?... Not wanting to turn a Fiat into a Porsche, just times are hard over here, to invest in a new TX right now... {:-{

Cheers :-))
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up