Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Advice on brushless drives for scratch built models  (Read 1886 times)

wigs

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Advice on brushless drives for scratch built models
« on: December 03, 2013, 11:00:59 pm »

Hi

I am new to this site and am looking for advice on selecting brushless motors for two scratch built boats I have made.

The first is an Interceptor 42 Pilot boat that is 93cm long.  The hull alone weighs just under 3kg’s.  I had two direct drive 12v speed 600 motors in it with 40mm 3-blade props, but the performance was not that great.  I would like to get a bit more performance out of it The other boat is a new scratch build of a semi scale Damen Twin Axe catamaran.  It is 90cm long and 34cm wide (Scale of 1:29).  Any idea of what motors and prop to give it a scale speed of 26knots.  I have never used used brushless motors before and have know idea how to spec them, so any ideas would be much appreciated.

For both boats I would prefer to use 3cell Li-Po batteries(11.1v) system to match all my other boats. Regards Anton

McGherkin

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Advice on brushless drives for scratch built models
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2013, 11:35:09 pm »

I would just look at other models that are a similar type and size to yours and see what they run for similar speeds. The interceptor sounds like it'd be quite similar to a 1/16th Tamar class lifeboat in terms of size and performance, and you left out what the second model actually is!

nick_75au

• Full Mayhemer
    • Logan City Marine Modellers
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2013, 02:49:07 am »

Hi Antonwhat voltage speed 600 motors are you using, and what voltage are you using?

http://www.modelboatmayhem.co.uk/forum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=42249.0;attach=120907

use the Max RPM graph on the chart or even a little higher