Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: ic/electric  (Read 7873 times)

midships

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
ic/electric
« on: December 01, 2013, 06:43:50 pm »

hi all
i am new to ic powered  models and rather like the look of the atlantic challenger or moonraker and would value some advice on the following points
if i were to go down the ic root would i need a separate 26cc engine for each jet drive
2 if i had to go down the electric route which brushless motor could i use to gain the same performance
3 some stretches of the river which i sail my electrics on (not very fast boats } are used by  anglers

in your expereance  how reluctant are local enviromental agencys for using ic motors ,in view of the projected costs £1000 and i have no lakes near me or transport to go further afield would i be better off using electric just in case

thanks for your time
midships

nick_75au

• Full Mayhemer
    • Logan City Marine Modellers
Re: ic/electric
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2013, 12:34:22 am »

Electric all the way,

I know of a Moonraker that goes really well on 700 motors and lipos and gets 20 minutes run time on 5000 mAH, for the jet drives of the Moonraker Motors that turn 15000 RPM  with at  least 450 watts power, this equates to about a 1000Kv motor run on 4 cell Lipo.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__17601__HobbyKing_3536_Brushless_Outrunner_1000KV.html

for example

martno1fan

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2013, 09:33:29 am »