Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New to IC need some pointers  (Read 5247 times)

TomHugill

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
New to IC need some pointers
« on: April 01, 2014, 06:02:41 pm »

Hey guys, Ive been playing about with electric boats for a couple of years now but want to branch out. I bought a pair of atlantic challengers after xmas and one of them was built with petrol in mind. I was going to do a brushless conversion but changed my mind!

So I need some pointers of where to start, I have the challenger (with single 49mm jet drive unit) which has rails already installed. The previous owner said he used a zenoah unit so I have purchaced a 26cc one off ebay (needs new carb seals). So what other components do I need to get this baby rocking? Do I need a tuned pipe or will any do? what sort of fail safes to folks use (I've seen a few but advice on this if nothing else would really be appreciated!) and finally I want to be able to stop the boat so I guess I need a clutch, has anyone got experience of these and can recommend?

I'm not looking for absolute speed at all costs but I'm hoping she will have a good turn of speed!

tmbc

• Full Mayhemer
    • www.tmbc.org.uk
Re: New to IC need some pointers
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2014, 07:32:18 pm »

well this could be a can of worms ! how long a piece of string ??? right where to we start ? is your zen standard ? is your jet unit upto the zenoah power ? 

failsafe i recommend the sparkout by doc and dave

tuned pipe they do help ! and can be fairly cheap around 70 quid including header and manifold ! see prestwich models

one big question is will it all fit in ????

BMPRS  Health and Safety Co-Ordinator

TomHugill

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2014, 07:51:06 pm »