Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hello everyone!  (Read 1472 times)

Steamed_Mumby

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Hello everyone!
« on: June 05, 2014, 11:36:38 pm »

Hi everyone!

Just thought I'd introduce myself, I'm Richard from Leeds! Looks like a great site!

I'm very much new to RC boating, I've been itching to get into steam RC boating ever since I saw one on a day out in Scarborough as a young lad. Anyway, earlier this week by chance I spotted a rather nice looking steam tug on ebay and decided to place a bid, and lo and behold I won it! I've had some experience with steam engines in the past and work as a professional engineer so ultimately I hope to have ago at building one myself one day, but for now, I couldn't resist this to have a play with (I don't suppose anyone recognises it? The sellers name is "bartapuss", a members name on here I notice, but it seems they've been inactive for some time :

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Live-Steam-model-tug-boat-radio-controlled-model-engineering-myford-/171342144200?ViewItem=&item=171342144200&nma=true&si=bc03xUStSVn7o1JdWSxfk%252FP37ms%253D&orig_cvip=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2557

Let me know your thoughts!

Cheers

Richard  :-)

derekwarner

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Hello everyone!
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2014, 03:14:20 am »

That's a very impressive steam plant Richard  :-)) & welcome to MBM...........I am sure other Mayhem members would be very interested in viewing some larger & clearer images of the complete setup when you take delivery

In particular, I am interested in the lubrication systems, but have certain concerns with the viscosity of the lubricating oil feeding through such small bore diameter capillary tubing ...............Derek
Derek Warner

Honorary Secretary [Retired]
Illawarra Live Steamers Co-op
Australia
www.ils.org.au

Jerry C

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Hello everyone!