Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New  (Read 2048 times)

zeusbheld

• Shipmate
  • MTBs, corvettes, subs...
New
« on: July 01, 2014, 02:22:35 pm »

I'm new to this forum, new to R/C and new to ship modeling, unless you count the plastic kits i built, took to the river, and blew up with gasoline and fireworks when I was a kid. However, I do tend to be ambitious (and somewhat obsessive) and should do all right at acquiring the necessary modeling skills; I studied Art and I'm currently a secondary Art teacher. I'm not as well equipped for the technical side of radio control modeling, but I did manage to survive a year and a half of engineering school before bailing out, so I will (eventually) figure out how to make things do what I want them to.

What attracted me to modeling was simple: I live in a neighborhood on the outskirts of Bangkok, Thailand that's peppered with placid little lakes. As I was sitting in a lakeside restaurant, I saw, swimming like 'nessie,' a monitor lizard (closely resembling Komodo dragons, and they grow almost as large, although this one was no giant). Magnificent creature, but taking a cue from my cat, I started daydreaming about creeping up on him at periscope depth and firing a spread of torpedos at the Beast from 2,000 Centimeters... and so I got it in my head I need a tricked-out RC submarine.