Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Amati Dorade Yacht  (Read 3041 times)

Jim_Hurley

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Amati Dorade Yacht
« on: August 29, 2014, 07:55:03 pm »

Hi,
I'm new to this forum, I've been hanging out on the RC Groups sailboat forum, I have Canterbury J (CJ #503) build log there.
I'm interested in building the Amati Dorade Yacht from their kit and I'd like to RC it. I'm trying to find out more about the kit and whats needed to convert it and so far the only thing I can come up with is the name of a person, Doug, who has done this and has pictures on this site. If anybody had point me in the right direction to contact him I would greatly appreciate it.
I'm not a novice builder, but Ill never be confused with a master craftsman. I'd like to find out if I have the skill level to build the boat before I spend nearly $500 for one.
I live in Sequim (pronounce like swim only with a Q) Washington, which is on the North Olympic Peninsula. We have a nice pond here in a city park which has light to moderate winds. The light wind days should suit this boat well.
Thanks in advance for your help.
Jim

hmsantrim

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Amati Dorade Yacht
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2014, 09:36:13 am »

Hi Jim.
 found a build of a Dorade on a forum a bit nearer home but you would have to enquire if he has fitted it out for RC.
 Its got an abs hull, thought their stuff was all Pof hulls.  The full keel may lend its self to internal lead shot ballast or a external bolt on.
 frank
http://www.shipmodelsocietyofnewjersey.org/barry-rudd.php
 Yacht Dorade with ABS Hull by Amati