Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: hello from total novice  (Read 2011 times)

neverupright

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
hello from total novice
« on: August 31, 2014, 03:50:21 pm »

Hi all
venturing into the world of radio controlled model boats. I have built plastic models on and off all my life (49 yrs). Built a hull for a model yacht using balsa wood. I have got plans for an Air-sea rescue launch. Building from scratch, I will be posting lots of questions as I go along. First question, do I use plywood for the hull.

cheers
carl.

Bob K

• Bob K
  • Full Mayhemer
Re: hello from total novice
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2014, 03:59:50 pm »

Welcome to Mayhem Carl.  Looking forward to news on your build.  Please feel free to ask questions, that's what we like  O0
Ply is fine as long as it is sealed and waterproofed. I will let our woodworking experts give details.
HMS Skirmisher (1905), HMS Amazon (1906), HMS K9 (1915), Type 212A (2002), HMS Polyphemus (1881), Descartes (1897), Iggle Piggle boat (CBBC), HMS Royal Marine (1943), HMS Marshall Soult, HMS Agincourt (1912)

Neil

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2014, 05:01:14 pm »

yes Carl, Ply is probably the best covering.......but use the close grained Birch faced ply which uses water resistant ( not waterproof) glue to bond it........you can get this in either "lite" ply which is what it says, lighter than normal or the "normal birch faced ply......they both paint better than open grained stuff normally fro such places as B & Q.........you need to use about 4 - 6MM for the frames, and 1.8mm ply for the hull sides...........and then coat it inside the hull before putting the deck on with resin and glass matting to completely waterproof from leaking..........paint the outside with sanding sealer and then enamel or acrylic paints of your choice

inertia