Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Billings Zwarte Zee motor, prop and esc combo?  (Read 5333 times)

Jherek

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Billings Zwarte Zee motor, prop and esc combo?
« on: September 23, 2014, 03:40:43 pm »

Hi, I'm building my first RC model boat the Billings Zwarte Zee 592 (ABS hull) and I'd like some advice on the electronics to put in. I'm a newbie to RC boats but have built RC gliders, assembled RC cars and done plenty of plastic kits - building this http://www.britmodeller.com/forums/index.php?/topic/234962084-gallery-ii/#entry1614796 1:125 Revell model of the Calypso inspired me to try something bigger!

Ok, back to the topic. The kit comes with a 3 bladed type A 50mm brass prop, I plan to replace this with a nice '2022' 4 bladed prop from prop shop as the original ship had a 4 bladed prop (I think).

So I need to power this, I'm thinking 12V lead acid battery, 15 amp brushed esc, maybe Mtroniks? and

either MFA RE540 geared 6:1 OR MFA Torpedo 800 Direct drive.

I have no idea what the all up weight of this model will be...

Any advice please? Too little? Too much, stick with the 3 blade prop or not?

Thanks

Simon

Buccaneer

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Billings Zwarte Zee motor, prop and esc combo?
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2014, 09:10:35 pm »

Hi Simon,

I built the Zwarte Zee plank on frame version as a static model 36 years ago when on a 9 month deployment on the Ark Royal. I've just looked up its' dimensions and reckon you are looking at about 4.5-5 Kg final displacement. More recently I had an 800 motor in my Sea Queen, it is a big motor. Consider a Mabuchi 555 from Component Shop, motor and stand for £10. I have one in my 33 inch Puffer and it shoves it around very nicely. Lots of torque, and quiet.

John

roycv

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2014, 12:22:44 am »