Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Newbie here, building a multi  (Read 1870 times)

joelomunro

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Newbie here, building a multi
« on: February 04, 2015, 09:19:40 am »

Gday everyone, I'm new around here and hence this is post 1.  A little about me to begin with.

I'm in my mid 30s, live in New South Wales, Australia, and work in Canberra, however I'm a Queenslander and have only been down here a couple of years.  I've been interested in radio controlled hobbies since I was a kid, but it took me a while to actually get into it, having actually had a chance to get a start at things about 10 years ago with an RC10GT truck and a multi that I built from a mould which I brought with an engine, rudder and shaft from an ex's dad.  I've been flying radio controlled planes on and off for the last two years also. 

When I built the multi the first time the mould got damaged by a mates bother who apparently 'knew' how to apply gel coat properly.  The hull got pretty well stuck in the mould and getting it out took some of the moulds gel coat with it.  In a flash of inspiration while I was at home last Christmas I dug up the mould in my shed and brought it home with me with intentions of repairing it and seeing if I could make a few hulls for a mate of mine and I.  I've been giving the mould a make over with a gel coat repair product and it's looking like it'll be usable, so now onto some technical queries regarding properly setting up a multi.