Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Placing the antenna  (Read 2278 times)

JaS

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49
  • Location: Gothenburgh,Sweden
Placing the antenna
« on: November 12, 2014, 05:27:56 AM »

Hello


Sorry if posting in wrong category (Mod please adjust if necessary)


I wonder how you guys are placing the antenna in your scale working vessels, coming from the modelheli world using 2.4 ghz it was easy but now with a 40 mhz system I'm not sure how to place the antenna wire so it don't take down the scale appearance, do you just wire the antenna cable inside the boat and not run that far away or is there some other solution with a small mast that appears as a scale detail?


Best R
Jack
Logged

Bob K

  • Bob K
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,656
  • Location: Windsor
Re: Placing the antenna
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2014, 06:09:23 AM »

Hello Jack, and welcome.

With 40 MHz I run the long antenna wire along the inside of the hull, as close to the underside of the deck as practical. 

Cheers,  Bob K
Logged
HMS Skirmisher (1905), HMS Amazon (1906), HMS K9 (1915), Type 212A (2002), HMS Polyphemus (1881), Descartes (1897), Iggle Piggle boat (CBBC), HMS Royal Marine (1943), HMS Marshall Soult, HMS Agincourt (1912)

colin-d

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 146
  • Location: Germany
    • my hobby
Re: Placing the antenna
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2014, 06:20:09 AM »

depends on what I am building... but I have used Bob's version... with the only difference, I install a tube that goes around the inside of the Hull, that way the antenna cannot get tangled up with any other wires..

I also use the mast, if I have made it out of Brass
Logged

radiojoe

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,541
  • Treat every day as your last,, one day it will be.
  • Location: Gosport , Hampshire , England
Re: Placing the antenna
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2014, 10:14:26 AM »

I only use 2.4 ghz. these days and placement of the antenna doesn't seem to be so critical, some of my Rx's have two some only one all around 4" to 5" The Saturn Rx has two that I run each side of the centre line and up to each deck support,  IMO the 2.4ghx.system is the best thing that's happened to RC modelling since it began.
Logged

JaS

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49
  • Location: Gothenburgh,Sweden
Re: Placing the antenna
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2014, 10:26:54 AM »

I only use 2.4 ghz. these days and placement of the antenna doesn't seem to be so critical, some of my Rx's have two some only one all around 4" to 5" The Saturn Rx has two that I run each side of the centre line and up to each deck support,  IMO the 2.4ghx.system is the best thing that's happened to RC modelling since it began.


Yes, agree with that, but I have a Fm system with twin stick which I think has moore benefits than 2,4 without, atleast for now, if some manufacturer can present a descent 2,4 system with twinsticks i be the first to buy. i have seen some rebuild theirs radios but i don't have that knowledge so I have to wait.


Cheers
Jack


Ps ..thanks Bob and Colin, some real good advices that I'm gone practice to hide the cable.
Logged

radiojoe

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,541
  • Treat every day as your last,, one day it will be.
  • Location: Gosport , Hampshire , England
Re: Placing the antenna
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2014, 10:37:32 AM »

Right with you Jack, didn't realise you were talking about a twin stick, lets hope they make one in 2.4 soon I bet that would be a top seller :-))
Logged

JaS

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49
  • Location: Gothenburgh,Sweden
Re: Placing the antenna
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2014, 02:52:47 PM »

Yes, that would be nice but I also have to say i really like mine robbe radio, once i had a F 14 navy but now with  the newer Fc -16 there some Moore possibilities.

Br
Jack
Logged

BarryM

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,690
  • Location: West Lothian
Re: Placing the antenna
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2014, 07:27:10 PM »

Wire aerial to a scale brass mast, run it around inside the hull or solder it to brass handrails. All work for me.

Barry M
Logged

Peter Fitness

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6,765
  • Location: Wyrallah, near Lismore NSW Australia
Re: Placing the antenna
« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2014, 09:22:09 PM »

I agree with Bob K and Colin-d. I generally use a similar set up to Colin, running the antenna in a tube just below deck level. In the case of 2.4 Ghz, I keep the receiver(s) (some sets have 2 receivers) as high as possible in the hull, using some sticky backed Velcro.


Peter.
Logged

JaS

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49
  • Location: Gothenburgh,Sweden
Re: Placing the antenna
« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2014, 09:54:49 AM »

Ok guys, thanks for the tips!

Br
Jack
Logged

essex2visuvesi

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6,146
  • Location: Finland, England, Finland!
Re: Placing the antenna
« Reply #10 on: November 15, 2014, 10:27:52 AM »

IMO the 2.4ghx.system is the best thing that's happened to RC modelling since it began.


Unless you're into submarines  ;D
Logged
One By One The Penguins Steal My Sanity
Proud member of the OAM  (Order of the Armchair Modeller)
Junior member of the OGG  (Order of the Grumpy Git)

JaS

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49
  • Location: Gothenburgh,Sweden
Re: Placing the antenna
« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2014, 10:30:34 AM »


Unless you're into submarines  ;D

Safe running, no diving.. :-)
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up