Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: ESC won't work old as hills  (Read 6235 times)

RAAArtyGunner

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,852
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
ESC won't work old as hills
« on: January 10, 2015, 08:15:17 AM »

ESC old as the hills.

Have taken on the task, love job, to overhaul and refit this kit.

Radio and ESC have been provided and are unused (new) am told they are as old as the hills.

Problem is, when all is hooked up and switched on, the motor runs at full speed and there is no control via the Radio.

Have changed plug connections around, 2 channel Radio, but no change, motor still runs flat out.

Guessing may need to look in ESC for a “speed” adjustment but not confident in looking into the black box, actually it is aluminium.

 If all else fails read the instructions there are none.

Done the usual google search but can find no reference to CE Systems ESC. Doesn’t mean much, because my searches usually result in nil. The younger you are the easier it is to find things on the net.

Anyway something is amiss, question is what and how do I rectify it.

Simple problem, so is there a simple black art solution.

Electronics is not one of my strong points  {:-{ {:-{ {:-{
Logged
Gunna build those other boats one day.

Brian60

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,315
  • Location: Hull,UK-but currently residing in Los Martinez, Spain.
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2015, 08:40:00 AM »

I couldn't find any record of the company either, but a google search did turn up this link, I hope its ok to paste it because its another boat forum......

http://www.modelboats.co.uk/forums/postings.asp?th=72452

Also this one from even earlier from our own forum....

http://www.modelboatmayhem.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=3682.0



According to one of the replies its been out of business for a long long time.
Looks like you are putting in a new esc.

inertia

  • Guest
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2015, 08:55:52 AM »

It sounds very much as if the output transistor has blown (I doubt if this thing used MOSFETs). In that case it's almost certainly U/S unless you can find a replacement output semiconductor of the same type. Like the man says, it's time to fit a new ESC.
DM
Logged

Stan

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,331
  • Location: Leeds
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2015, 09:07:35 AM »

HI Guys CE speed controllers are long gone. IF they used the old ZN409 CHIP like most of them did at the time  you my find it hard to locate one . If you do the cost will be very high. These units along with ESC from MFA and Fleet systems were very advanced when you think most models had some form of variable resistor controller fitted in them. I know that the MFA electronic boat controller was priced at £30 this was in the early nineties but it was very advanced giving better speed control less voltage drop compered to the  V/R on the market. Most of the components fitted in the above units will now be unavailable forgot to mention also Action I think would have on the scene making electronic ESC also.

Stan. :(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :((
Logged

RAAArtyGunner

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,852
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2015, 09:08:28 AM »

I couldn't find any record of the company either, but a google search did turn up this link, I hope its ok to paste it because its another boat forum......

http://www.modelboats.co.uk/forums/postings.asp?th=72452

Also this one from even earlier from our own forum....

http://www.modelboatmayhem.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=3682.0



According to one of the replies its been out of business for a long long time.
Looks like you are putting in a new esc.
Brian,
 Thanks for the mayhem link that is the one and going by the other link us Aussies were partial to that type of ESC :(( :(( :((
Not looking good. Thank you
Logged
Gunna build those other boats one day.

RAAArtyGunner

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,852
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2015, 09:11:48 AM »

It sounds very much as if the output transistor has blown (I doubt if this thing used MOSFETs). In that case it's almost certainly U/S unless you can find a replacement output semiconductor of the same type. Like the man says, it's time to fit a new ESC.
DM

Ah Dave,
I was really really trying to avoid depleting my stock of Action ESC's but what will be, will be.
Writing is on the wall.
Logged
Gunna build those other boats one day.

RAAArtyGunner

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,852
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2015, 09:18:54 AM »

HI Guys CE speed controllers are long gone. IF they used the old ZN409 CHIP like most of them did at the time  you my find it hard to locate one . If you do the cost will be very high. These units along with ESC from MFA and Fleet systems were very advanced when you think most models had some form of variable resistor controller fitted in them. I know that the MFA electronic boat controller was priced at £30 this was in the early nineties but it was very advanced giving better speed control less voltage drop compered to the  V/R on the market. Most of the components fitted in the above units will now be unavailable forgot to mention also Action I think would have on the scene making electronic ESC also.

Stan. :(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :((

Stan, 1990's is about right so looks like I bite the bullet and install another ESC.
Have a few spare resistor boards in my stash but they are not as easy to set up as an ESC.

Whilst the news is not good and what I was dreading, the assistance is much appreciated thank you one and all. O0 :-))  O0 :-))  O0 :-))
Logged
Gunna build those other boats one day.

inertia

  • Guest
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2015, 09:59:07 AM »

IF they used the old ZN409 CHIP like most of them did at the time  you my find it hard to locate one . If you do the cost will be very high.
I have 23 of these sitting in a tube, doing nothing except awaiting a customer. Contact me via PM if you are interested and, no - I won't be asking £28 each like the company on E-Bay!
Old ACTion ESCs did use the ZN409 servo chip but everything produced since about 2000 has been based on microprocessors and MOSFET outputs.

RAAArty
PM me if you need an ACTion ESC - I can often find one kicking around the workshop if I can be bothered to look hard enough!
DM
Logged

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,564
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2015, 10:21:55 AM »

From that era, the output transistor was probably a "summatorother"2055, depending on the encapsulation. Data sheet - http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/79982.pdf.  They are still in common use.  At that time, the BU211 power FET was just becoming mainstream. 
A picture of the other faces of the unit might help to figure a way to the insides.  It had to be assembled and I doubt if it was welded.  On the inside, there will likely be two adjusting pots which can be tweaked to find the center and then adjust the deadband.  I would not normally expect a power transistor to go short circuit - usually, if they die, things get a bit destructive with the heat generated and they wind up disconnecting themselves.  Of course, it might have been caught in the early stages.  Or the unit is telling it to be switched on, and it is obeying.  It still needs a look inside.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

Stavros

  • Guest
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2015, 10:44:31 AM »

Hang on a mo have you tried your own radio and receiver.....are the ones supplied compatible ....does the rudder work

Receiver says am        is the transmitter not fm

Dave
Logged

AlexC

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 141
  • Location: West Coast Scotland
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #10 on: January 10, 2015, 11:20:27 AM »

Hang on a mo have you tried your own radio and reciever.....are the ones supplied compatable ....does the rudder work

Reciever says am        is the transmitter not fm

Dave

Good shout Dave...
 
Certainly worth checking out... although the Magnum 2PL TX was produced in both AM and FM versions... the RX is definitely an AM version.
 
All the Best.
 
AlexC.
 
Logged

regiment

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,701
  • Location: perranporth cornwall
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #11 on: January 10, 2015, 02:01:46 PM »

  hi you could kick an action  esc my way for my yatch I am building  regiment
Logged

inertia

  • Guest
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #12 on: January 10, 2015, 02:44:11 PM »

Sorry, Gordon, but speed controllers for yachts is something I've never made.................. %)   Anyway, aren't they called sails?
DM
Logged

Netleyned

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8,979
  • Location: Meridian Line, Mouth of the Humber
    • cleethorpes mba
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #13 on: January 10, 2015, 04:41:18 PM »

Could be a model of a Cornish Oligarch's Yacht  %% %%
Speed controller on Rag & Stick  Wind
Stronger it blows faster it goes {-)

Ned
Logged
Smooth seas never made skilful sailors
Up Spirits  Stand fast the Holy Ghost.
http://www.cleethorpesmba.co.uk/

regiment

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,701
  • Location: perranporth cornwall
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #14 on: January 10, 2015, 07:56:48 PM »

I am going to put a motor in for when I get stuck on the island in the middle of the lake got stuck last year   gordon
Logged

RAAArtyGunner

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,852
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #15 on: January 10, 2015, 09:20:57 PM »

Update,
Awaiting photographer to take pics of ESC innards. Don't dare wake SWIMBO  :(( :(( :(( her camera, who sleeps in on Sunday mornings.

From what I can see in the ESC, need glasses, there is a relay and maybe a trimpot??
Relay has label with 201084 PC written on it.

According to the RC instructions the transmitter is AM and not FM, Quote Modulation method: AM
Logged
Gunna build those other boats one day.

Stavros

  • Guest
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #16 on: January 10, 2015, 09:32:14 PM »

Have you TRIED another transmitter and does the RUDDER work at all
 
 
Dave
Logged

RAAArtyGunner

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,852
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #17 on: January 10, 2015, 09:47:18 PM »

Have you TRIED another transmitter and does the RUDDER work at all
 
 
Dave

Dave,
The rudder works and I switched it around and it worked in both channels whereas the ESC also went flat out in both channels.
I have another same type transmitter so will try that also.

Thank you.
Logged
Gunna build those other boats one day.

Stavros

  • Guest
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #18 on: January 10, 2015, 10:00:41 PM »

Right
 
Dave
Logged

RAAArtyGunner

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,852
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #19 on: January 10, 2015, 10:23:32 PM »

OK have changed transmitters and result is the same so looks like problem is with ESC.
SWIMBO is stirring so will get some pics up of ESC innards.
Hope they are clear enough.
Thank you
Logged
Gunna build those other boats one day.

inertia

  • Guest
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #20 on: January 10, 2015, 11:13:15 PM »

Malcolm was right about the type of power semicon. That's it, bolted to the case to conduct the heat away a la Electronize.
The circular upright gizmo with three legs and a slot in the middle (to the left of centre in the bottom photo) is a preset pot. It should adjust the centre point when you insert a small screwdriver and turn it. Leave the motor and main battery disconnected and just plug the ESC into the receiver. Now wiggle the throttle stick. At some position of the preset you should be able to hear and see the relay click over from forward to reverse. If that doesn't happen then the chip is dead. If it does then the likelihood is that the TIP summatorother thingy has given up the ghost. There is also another transistor in there somewhere which switches the relay, but that shouldn't make the motor run flat out all the time even if it's up the creek. My money is on TIP.
I still think you'll finish up replacing the whole thing but, hey - this inter-continental forensic stuff is FUN!
Time for all good little boys to GTB over here - good mornin' Australia...............
DM
Logged

derekwarner

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8,041
  • Location: Wollongong Australia
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #21 on: January 10, 2015, 11:14:56 PM »

 ok2 ...according to GOOGLE, "201084 PC" can cause measles or AIDS  <*<

Considering that.....I would tend to think the rubbish bin is the best bet  ;) or the TIP as Inertia suggests O0...............Derek
Logged
Derek Warner

Honorary Secretary [Retired]
Illawarra Live Steamers Co-op
Australia
www.ils.org.au

Umi_Ryuzuki

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,126
  • Location: PDX, OR USA
    • Models and Miniatures
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #22 on: January 10, 2015, 11:25:29 PM »

Gut the box, and hide a modern ESC inside the tin.
 %) :} :-))

RAAArtyGunner

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,852
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #23 on: January 10, 2015, 11:38:46 PM »

Gut the box, and hide a modern ESC inside the tin.
 %) :} :-))

 O0 %%
Logged
Gunna build those other boats one day.

RAAArtyGunner

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,852
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: ESC won't work old as hills
« Reply #24 on: January 10, 2015, 11:47:42 PM »

Dave,

Tested as suggested, you won the bet, the silence was deafening zilch, nuttin, presumed dead.

Trivia, the TIP on case is marked TIP 36  18004.
Found another TIP vertical in centre of board beside a long rectangular chip. That TIP is marked TIP 41A  8344.

 <:( <:( <:( <:( <:( <:(
Logged
Gunna build those other boats one day.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up