Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: robbe F14 Radio  (Read 4014 times)

irishcarguy

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,374
  • Happiness is running from a grizzly and escaping
  • Location: Calgary N. W. Alberta, Canada
    • Britishcars International. org.
robbe F14 Radio
« on: January 28, 2015, 01:18:46 AM »

In the last while I purchased Futaba/Robbe F14 radio. I am happy enough with it. However I wanted to add some modules, mainly curiosity, being me. The problem was the directions for attaching the modules to the radio were awful. I contacted DM & he tried to solve the problem & I might add he succeeded. Robbe in their wisdom changed the way the parts were attached to the radio abut DID NOT up date the F14 Manual. This took a lot of Dave's time & I wanted it to be known here that we have some great people on this forum, we should not forget these people that give of their time  to help those of us that sometimes are one brick short of a load, Thank you Dave Milbourn for one of many rescues just for me.   
Logged
Mick B.

F4TCT

  • I am not completely useless.......I can always serve as a BAD example
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 535
  • Location: Whitby, North Yorkshire, UK
    • My Boat Builds
Re: robbe F14 Radio
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2015, 10:31:59 AM »

Daves a solid guy. Helped me a lot also.


I still need to start sweet talking him into converting my f14 into the 2.4 gig stuff.  :kiss:



Logged

inertia

  • Guest
Re: robbe F14 Radio
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2015, 11:58:12 AM »

You're both welcome, chaps.
Put yer 'and in yer pocket then, Danny boy. This is a DIY job.  http://www.engel-modellbau.eu/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=96_203&products_id=2362
Do be aware that you can't fit this and use any of the additional switch modules as well. You also need to buy a suitable 2G4 receiver. There may be one of those FrSky conversion doobries that you can fit and also have the modules working, but I've had enough of Robbe-Futaba radios for a week or so!
DM
Logged

spearfish99

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 314
  • Location: Northampton
Re: robbe F14 Radio
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2015, 01:26:08 PM »

I have a Graupner Mx-16s which was 35mhz but has been converted to 2.4ghz using one of these. Works well all you need is to attach 3 wires to the existing radio + ve power -ve power and PPM
 
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__17205__FrSky_DHT_8ch_DIY_Telemetry_Compatible_Transmitter_Module.htm
Logged

Time Bandit

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 175
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Deizisau, Germany
Re: robbe F14 Radio
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2015, 07:03:03 PM »

If you want to use Multiswitch /Multiprop modules,
get a Corona module ($22 at HK) or a Jeti.

I used both, and both work perfectly.
Frsky and all the others do not supply the usage of multiswitch modules.
Logged
regards

Tobias

ray123

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 445
  • mary marie cygnus gm33
  • Location: southeast england
Re: robbe F14 Radio
« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2015, 08:32:03 PM »

ive converted 2 of my f14 to 2.4ghz   i got one kit from germany  & converted it my self  it easy enough to do  it did cost with the reciver  & total of about Ģ160  but it was worth it to have cystall free sailing :-)) 
 'i know there be people comenting on that its expensive to convert  & yes you can buy a compleate set for that money  but  i like the f14's  :-)  regards ray
Logged

thegrimreaper

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 384
  • Location: Ellesmere Port
Re: robbe F14 Radio
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2015, 10:41:36 AM »

us my FC16 on 2.4 for flying hovercraft and on 40 megs for my subs plenty of channels for everything on  40 megs and 2.4 as well without reverting to expantion modules convertion I did my self using a kit from Hobbyking


Mark.
Logged
Don't lie, thieve, cheat or steal. The Government do not like the competition.

inertia

  • Guest
Re: robbe F14 Radio
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2015, 11:12:04 AM »

us my FC16 on 2.4 for flying hovercraft and on 40 megs for my subs plenty of channels for everything on  40 megs and 2.4 as well without reverting to expantion modules convertion I did my self using a kit from Hobbyking
Mark.
This one? http://www.hobbyking.co.uk/hobbyking/store/__9770__Corona_2_4Ghz_DIY_Module_RX_DSSS_.html
DM
Logged

spearfish99

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 314
  • Location: Northampton
Re: robbe F14 Radio
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2015, 01:44:28 PM »

If you read the aircraft forums, the Corona conversion has a reputation of having "notchy" servo resolution whereas the Frsky is said to give smooth servo travel. Not sure if this is true as I have only tried the Frsky, which is fine.
Anyway it is probably more of a problem controlling planes rather than boats where you probably wouldn't notice it
Logged

Subculture

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,961
  • Location: North London
    • Dive-in to Model submarines
Re: robbe F14 Radio
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2015, 05:13:59 PM »

I use it on planes. Works alright for me.

Time Bandit

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 175
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Deizisau, Germany
Re: robbe F14 Radio
« Reply #10 on: January 29, 2015, 06:29:42 PM »

I use it on planes. Works alright for me.

Agreed, even if I never actually tried it for flying.
I personally donīt like Frsky to fly since it has some delayed sliding average effect on the servoīs. I always kind of oversteer with it.
But this is a matter of habit. If you get used to it, you donīt feel it.

Logged
regards

Tobias

thegrimreaper

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 384
  • Location: Ellesmere Port
Re: robbe F14 Radio
« Reply #11 on: January 30, 2015, 12:46:24 PM »

@ inertia. Yes thats the one find it works great had no problems with it was easy enough to install
Logged
Don't lie, thieve, cheat or steal. The Government do not like the competition.

inertia

  • Guest
Re: robbe F14 Radio
« Reply #12 on: January 30, 2015, 12:54:41 PM »

@ inertia. Yes thats the one find it works great had no problems with it was easy enough to install
Thanks, Mark. I'll store that link away in my bookmarks.
Dave M
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up