Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: NiMH battery question.  (Read 3416 times)

flack

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
NiMH battery question.
« on: January 30, 2015, 09:23:56 pm »

Afraid I am a bit of a novice when it comes to modern electrics in radio control so please excuse my ignorance. I am in the process of building a Metcalf Waveney class Lifeboat which will is fitted with two Turnigy D3542/5 1250kv motors with two hobbyking 50 amp esc's connected to an Action Electronics P40D mixer. I am not a fan of lipos and I don't think lead acid will give me the power required fast enough so have opted for NiMH, probably around 4600 to 5000mAh. Is there any kind of advantage of using 12volt over 9.6 volt?

Cheers Shaun

Stavros

Re: NiMH battery question.
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2015, 10:02:46 pm »

on 9.6 v your motors will be spinning at 12000 rpm on 12 v it will be 15000 rpm an increase of 3000 rpm thats what I would say it the biggest difference.......in other words it will be quicker on 12v than 9.6

Dave

tica

• Full Mayhemer
    • Skalamodelskibe
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2015, 10:03:33 pm »

"I am not a fan of lipos" Why not, they have come a long way since the first fire crackers. The last 2 years I have only burnt out 2 packs and that were my own fault.

With the BL setup you are using you will get approx. 15K rpm with a 12V set-up and that's pushing the physics, if you use a 7.4V Lipo you will get approx 9250 rpm which is close to the max for a submerged prop. With a NiMh 7.2V you will have approx 9K rpm.

So if you will stick with NiMh the max would be a 8.2V 7Cell = 10250 rpm.

Please note that I have calculated the rpm at the nominal voltage and not the max for a fully charged pack.

BR
Carsten
My postings are only reflecting my own opinion and should not be read as the holy grail of truth :-)

flack

• Full Mayhemer