Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Planet T5  (Read 1772 times)

john44

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,333
  • member of the Potteries Model boat club
Planet T5
« on: February 19, 2015, 04:56:15 PM »

Hi guys, can the channel 5/gear switch be swapped with a rotating multi position switch to
Control the travel of the servo,s etc.


John
Logged

Brian60

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,315
  • Location: Hull,UK-but currently residing in Los Martinez, Spain.
Re: Planet T5
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2015, 11:09:46 PM »

Now that's an interesting question. I've replaced mine with a momentary switch is non latching, because for my use I just need multiple trigger signals from that channel.

Fitting the potentiometer would I think alter the wave form, but more knowledgeable folk will be along eventually.

imsinking

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 527
  • Location: Merseyside
Re: Planet T5
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2015, 09:19:30 AM »

Now that's an interesting question. I've replaced mine with a momentary switch is non latching, because for my use I just need multiple trigger signals from that channel.

Fitting the potentiometer would I think alter the wave form, but more knowledgeable folk will be along eventually.
Is it that easy ? I posted a similar question in radio etc . . .
http://www.modelboatmayhem.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,50035.0.html
I just want a switch to control a sequencing switcher to raise & lower a floating bridge on a Rhine pusher tug . . .
Bill

Logged

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,432
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: Planet T5
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2015, 09:30:47 AM »

It depends on the software in the transmitter.  If it is designed to just send two values (on or off) then you can't fit a rotary switch with a bunch of resistors or a calibrated pot, the intermediate conditions will simply not be recognized.  On the other hand, if it was written as a full analog channel being fed by a switch with just two conditions, conversion will be very possible.
Logged
"Trying is the first step towards failure" - Homer (Simpson)

Brian60

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,315
  • Location: Hull,UK-but currently residing in Los Martinez, Spain.
Re: Planet T5
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2015, 02:40:54 PM »

All I can say is the momentary switch worked for me on the T5. Really all you are doing is replacing a latching switch (on/off) with a only on when pressed switch. As I only require it to 'pulse' the signal to the receiver rather than permanently on it works for me, but then again mine is operating a picaxe chip which interprets the signal pulses one after another to carry out specific tasks on the boat.

Netleyned

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8,906
  • Location: Meridian Line, Mouth of the Humber
    • cleethorpes mba
Re: Planet T5
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2015, 04:21:32 PM »

Surely the switch as fitted will do the job of raising and lowering a bridge
on a pusher.
After all the switch is there to raise and lower landing gear.
These transmitters were made for the "Take your model home in a bin bag"
brigade and the switch is a more up and down control than on/off.

Ned
Logged
Smooth seas never made skilful sailors
Up Spirits  Stand fast the Holy Ghost.
http://www.cleethorpesmba.co.uk/

Fastfaz

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 451
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Southport, United Kingdom
Re: Planet T5
« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2015, 04:40:18 PM »

   Whatever happened to clockwork mechanism's? are well back to Jurassic Park.
          Cheers,
               Peter. {:-{ {:-{ {:-{ {:-{ {:-{ {:-{ {:-{
Logged

john44

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,333
  • member of the Potteries Model boat club
Re: Planet T5
« Reply #7 on: February 20, 2015, 07:09:28 PM »

Surely the switch as fitted will do the job of raising and lowering a bridge
on a pusher.
After all the switch is there to raise and lower landing gear.
These transmitters were made for the "Take your model home in a bin bag"
brigade and the switch is a more up and down control than on/off.

Ned


Hi Ned, the reason for my post is that I would like to control the position of the throw through
The travel instead of the full travel from 1 end point to the other./ multi position.
I don't mean servo morph control. Controlled by the channel 5 switch.


John
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up