Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Keeping track on the lathe  (Read 4041 times)

Southern Sailor

• Southern Sailor
  • Full Mayhemer
Keeping track on the lathe
« on: February 22, 2015, 05:10:01 pm »

I thought I had posted this query before but had no responses and can't find it now.  The question was either too dumb to publish or I misfired? So at the risk of repeating a dumb question here goes again.   I am a novice machinist and I have an Optimum lathe D180 x 300 Vario. When using the slides, particularly the cross slide, the wheel "falls back" in certain positions during a cut and it is difficult to remember where it was when setting the next cut.  It appears that the only way of keeping track of where one is, is either by improving one's memory, or writing down the reading from the latest setting.  Any comments or tips?   Thanks. Brian {:-{

Mark T

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Keeping track on the lathe
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2015, 05:18:37 pm »

Hi Brian - when you says the wheel falls back are you talking about the slack on the wheel due to the slack in the drive threads of the particular slide?  I hope that makes sense  :embarrassed:

Southern Sailor

• Southern Sailor
  • Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2015, 05:21:08 pm »

Hi Mark.  Yes I am talking about the slack.  Brian

Mark T

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2015, 05:25:18 pm »

Unfortunately the only way is as you have said, you need to remember your last setting on the wheel.  If you forget the only thing left to do is to mic up where you are and then touch the cutting tool on the piece again to obtain a new datum  {:-{

All lathes suffer from this backlash and the cheaper the machine the worse it is.  Just keep track of where you are and you will be ok - Oh and mic up as often as you possibly can  :-))

Southern Sailor

• Southern Sailor
  • Full Mayhemer