Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: paint woes  (Read 5728 times)

timbo

• Full Mayhemer
paint woes
« on: March 10, 2015, 04:26:28 pm »

I am just starting to restore a model slipway kelly & bonny, this is my first build and up to now everything is sort of going ok, everything is stripped down, superstructure is been rebuilt.
I have started to think about repainting the hull and this is where I have encountered a problem, after wet and drying it I started to prime it , not sure what the top coat is but the primer I am using is reacting with it and causing crazing, what is the best paint to use and can I use a paint stipper like nitromorse ( think thats how its spelt) to strip the hull back,  I am using grey primer car body paint spray which states that it's suitable for use with acrylic or cellulose. <:( 

Help

david48

• Full Mayhemer
Re: paint woes
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2015, 05:55:21 pm »

Hi timbo
If you do a search in painting tips and hints all will become apparent. Stavros  has a very comprehensive article here on painting .
One of his tips is sand dry and primer is not waterproof
David
Two heads are better than one sheep head  as my old plant manager used to say

Brian60

• Full Mayhemer
  • Location: Hull,UK-but currently residing in Los Martinez, Spain.
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2015, 06:30:27 pm »

You are spraying car paint (either cellulose or acrylic) over enamel. Chances are it was originally finished with Humbrol model enamels.

You have to strip off all the old paint along with what you have just applied and start from scratch. You don't say what the hull is made from, using Nitromors on grp ( fibreglass) or a plastic hull will result in the hull melting.

Stavros

« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2015, 08:58:53 pm »

Another TOP TIP comming up