Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Switch Amperage  (Read 1247 times)

david48

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 819
  • Location: Strathdon,Aberdeenshire
Switch Amperage
« on: March 23, 2015, 02:09:12 PM »

I have used a mini toggle change over switch supplied by Comp Shop to make up a on board charging circuit to a drawing supplied by D M . Every thing tests out OK ,I also have put in a normal size  on/off toggle switch in the POS + feed from  the P103 to the P102 distribution this was installed prior to fitting the charging circuit . On seeing the  wiring could /should I have used a  large change over switch in place of the ON/
OFF switch in the line from P103 to P102.  As it is wired now power comes from the batteries through the mini change over switch to the input side of the P103 my concern is will it be able to handle the amperage .
Thank you
David
Logged
Two heads are better than one sheep head  as my old plant manager used to say

NFMike

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,062
  • Location: Hythe, Hants, UK
    • Plague Marine Services
Re: Switch Amperage
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2015, 02:23:13 PM »

Switches have two or more current ratings. The Switching capacity is what it can make/break under load and tends to vary a lot with voltage and AC/DC.
However, in this case you are interested in the Carrying capacity in Amps as you won't presumably be switching it under load. This is usually much higher than the switching capacity. It may be marked on the switch.

If not then the CS website should/may have the ratings, but if not and the switch has an RS type number on it, 'nnn-nnn', then Google that or search RS, Farnell for it and see if you can find a datasheet.

inertia

  • Guest
Re: Switch Amperage
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2015, 04:36:24 PM »

David
I'm trying very hard to remember the drawing - and failing. Is there any chance you could post it on here? If it's not a JPG file and you can't convert it then please send it to me via normal E-Mail. PM me if you don't have the address.
DM
Logged

david48

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 819
  • Location: Strathdon,Aberdeenshire
Re: Switch Amperage
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2015, 10:30:21 PM »

Hi Plague
I thank you for your input and will dig out the switch spec
David
Logged
Two heads are better than one sheep head  as my old plant manager used to say

inertia

  • Guest
Re: Switch Amperage
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2015, 08:41:39 AM »

PM sent. Don't buy a new switch just yet. Drawing is here (Reply #87) http://www.modelboatmayhem.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,49380.msg506094.html#msg506094
DM
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up