Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Does anybody know.... Billing Fairmount Alpine  (Read 1898 times)

Carl_plumber

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Wirral
Does anybody know.... Billing Fairmount Alpine
« on: April 01, 2015, 11:59:38 AM »

Does anybody know if I can build the Billing Fairmount Alpine tug without radios and motors ect and then add them later on if I was to make it r/c?

Thanks.
Logged

Liverbudgie

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,168
  • Model Boat Mayhem is the Best!
Re: Does anybody know....
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2015, 12:10:01 PM »

No doubt you could but, it would not be advisable; if you do go down this route I would suggest that you build in all the mounts and trays required as you go along so that the motors, batteries and radio gear can be fitted easily later.

LB
Logged

Brian60

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,315
  • Location: Hull,UK-but currently residing in Los Martinez, Spain.
Re: Does anybody know....
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2015, 01:57:38 PM »

I would add the motors/couplings at the start. They don't cost much compared to all the electronics, are large and need to be installed in a straight line with the propshafts. Not easy to do if the model is completed. The rest can be added later as and when you wish.

plastic

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 979
  • Bobbing Along!
  • Location: Watford
Re: Does anybody know....
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2015, 04:55:08 PM »

I don't get this cost worry - you can buy Chinese brushed speed controllers for 5 and a 6-channel 2.4GHz Hobbyking radio setup is less than 20
I find the performance of these items to be perfectly reliable in slow moving boats.

Compared to the cost of building a decent model, this is peanuts. You can always upgrade later if you need to.
Logged

Netleyned

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8,955
  • Location: Meridian Line, Mouth of the Humber
    • cleethorpes mba
Re: Does anybody know....
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2015, 05:07:38 PM »

Once the deck is in place and not removable, you will have a hard
time fitting running gear and electrics.
You will also have less chance of putting ballast where
you will need it.

All the earlier posts make sense.

Ned
Logged
Smooth seas never made skilful sailors
Up Spirits  Stand fast the Holy Ghost.
http://www.cleethorpesmba.co.uk/

david48

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 814
  • Location: Strathdon,Aberdeenshire
Re: Does anybody know....
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2015, 05:38:33 PM »

I am building Fairmount ,the short answer is yes ,there is room to put in the r/c gear there is a large space where the superstructure fits and the rear deck comes off and leaves a big enough space to get motors and steering servo in . But  I would not ,think it through regards motor mounts fixing the servo do you want working thrusters fitting these later would not be impossible but the hull would have to be cut up a lot ,and there is a lot of work in the hull and it could easily go horribly wrong very quickly.
I've been on mine over two years on and of and are just about there withe the electrics .
Search Action Fairmount Alpine wireing other tha the fire pump I am fitting the rest . Good luck check out Mark t build in tugs and towing
David
Logged
Two heads are better than one sheep head  as my old plant manager used to say

tigertiger

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7,006
  • Location: Kunming, city of eternal springtime, SW China.
Re: Does anybody know.... Billing Fairmount Alpine
« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2015, 01:29:57 AM »

***Subject title modified***
Logged
The only stupid question is the one I didn't ask

Mark T

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 949
  • Location: Dudley in the Black Country
Re: Does anybody know.... Billing Fairmount Alpine
« Reply #7 on: April 02, 2015, 07:34:29 AM »

There's some excellent advice above  - Fit the motor mounts and prop shafts of your choice and at least fit the bow thruster tubes.  Everything else can be fitted later  :-))
Logged
Its not the finishing that matters - Its the journey along the way that counts

Fairmount Alpine Build http://modelboatmayhemimages.co.uk/album/bXv
Anteo Tug Build http://www.modelboatmayhem.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,59708.0.html
Pages: [1]   Go Up