Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Ni-MH Charging Problem  (Read 2032 times)

bigbilly

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Ni-MH Charging Problem
« on: April 05, 2015, 09:05:20 am »

I am a complete novice to RC boats and as I suffer with old age in my finger joints decided to buy a RTR launch.
It came with one battery i.e. ProBoat 8.4V 1600mAh battery pack and a 12V car type charger.  After what I considered a reasonable charge time (12 hours on a power pack) I took the boat to my local boating pool where it only lasted a couple of minutes, if that.  I tried several times again but no luck.
On a visit to my local model shop I bought another battery pack and a mains charger but was told by the assistant that these batteries were notorious to get their first charge ???  Anyway after several attempts now I cannot get either battery fully charged.

Where am I going wrong in what should be a very simple operation ?

Many thanks

Bill

malcolmfrary

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Ni-MH Charging Problem
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2015, 09:29:26 am »

A 12 volt car type charger for a 8.4 volt battery just sounds wrong unless the charger had current limiting built in.  If it didn't, after a short time on charge, it would probably have killed the battery.  This is guesswork, the only way to remove guesswork is by using a meter to get the actual voltages and currents involved, these days they are cheap enough.
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

bigbilly

• Shipmate
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2015, 10:14:33 am »

Only one battery was ever charged with the 12V car charger that came with the set.  The other battery has only ever been charged with the mains charger that was recommended by the model shop.

Bill

Time Bandit

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2015, 10:54:13 am »