Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: Apprentices  (Read 6309 times)

White Ensign

• Full Mayhemer
  • Limits must be limited!
Re: Apprentices
« Reply #25 on: July 20, 2007, 10:28:39 am »

... when I started my proffession as a plumber, I was send to the stores for some anvil-grease. Came back with a bottle of Schnaps, as some of the old lads told me, if you can`t bring the right stuff, you`ll have the sh... for the rest of your time.
Finally I became due to the winter-season the stores-helper, which gave me a nice, warm job when the others had been out on the rrofs in the cold.

If I look back now.... this is about 30 years ago....... goodness me, what an ol`wreck did I have become meanwhile......

Jörg
When God created planet earth, he made it with 75% of water. Bet he had the modelboaters on his mind!

MikeK

• Full Mayhemer
  • Utter Bloody Chaos !!
« Reply #26 on: July 20, 2007, 10:43:27 am »

When I was working on Wimpey drilling ships the fitter asked the drilling foreman , who was helping him on a generator, to go fetch a metric shifting spanner. Off he toddled and only twigged after an abortive search of the store room !
Pat, if you are reading this, sorry to let your secret out to the world  ;D ;D

MikeK

Hi Mike,

When I was an apprentice my foreman once asked me to go fetch his large adjustable spanner and I jokingly said "which one metric or imperial" Last laugh on me because you can buy adjustable spanners with metric calibration marks on the jaws. So as strange as it sounds you can get a metric adjustable spanner.

Clive ;D

Hi Clive,

Thanks for that info - you live and learn as they say  ;D The fitter I mentioned was a pal of mine, so I know he was winding Pat up, but now you have told me there is such a thing I will give Pat the benefit of the doubt (  ;) ::) )
My humble apologies, if you are reading this Pat  ;D ;D

MikeK

Guy Bagley

• Full Mayhemer