Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Fairwind weight...  (Read 2166 times)

lakesidebob

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Fairwind weight...
« on: July 18, 2015, 10:09:21 pm »

Firstly,i am new to sailing yachts from power boats,sailing a Dragonforce and a Footy...love it..more! I have just obtained an old Fairwind ABS hull and sails in good nick and hope to refurb. it and put new gear in with a sail arm servo and 2.4 RC gear.I have looked at all the FW info on the web gathering as much info as I can regarding the weight.This hull I have seems very heavy to me weighing in about 8-9 pound bare,just the hull and wondered about drilling out some of the lead shot in the keel.Is this about right,or should I lighten it a bit then add back later if necessary after sail trials? Hope someone can be of help,many thanks.Lakeside Bob.

Boomer

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Fairwind weight...
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2016, 10:16:07 pm »

Bob
Here are a few links that may provide some insights for you about your Fairwind project. The min. weight is 8lbs. so 8-9 is in the park.
http://www.theamya.org/boats/fairwind/
http://www.sailbakersfield.com/uploads/2/2/0/5/22059996/tuning_the_fairwind_for_racing.pdf
http://www.sailbakersfield.com/tech-corner.html

There is a lot of information at the last two links. Let me know how it all works out.
I have a Fairwind lll which is quite different - fiberglass hull - very pretty boats - sadly out of production.
Boomer

tigertiger

• Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2016, 02:38:20 am »