Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Billings St.Canute  (Read 12327 times)

portlineapp

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Billings St.Canute
« on: December 18, 2015, 08:35:16 am »

Good morning all,
At 75 I'm new to this hobby.
A couple of years ago I acquired the Billings St.Canute as a project to work on indoors during the winter.I'm used to working with all manner of small manual jobs and have sufficient carpentry tools & skills to make me think that I could be successful in the build.
The model was bought secondhand but I'm sure that everything in the box was as it was when first bought.
I've now planked up the two halves of the hull,smoothed and painted them to my satisfaction and the rudimentary instructions now indicate that I should glue the two halves together.
However,it seems obvious to me that I should first make some arrangement for siting the prop shaft and rudder stock with it's bearing,and any other components I haven't yet thought of.My instruction manual doesn't contain any information about this operation.
It occurs to me that Billings might think that the buyer is sufficiently experienced to be able to proceed on his own initiative.
If this is so,I am quite happy to go along with that but first I thought I would see if anyone else has written information beyond that contained in the instruction manual.
 Information of any kind would be very gratefully received.
Thanks,
Les

essex2visuvesi

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Billings St.Canute
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2015, 08:45:40 am »

Billing boats are well known for what can only be described as "sparse" instructions, and assuming the builder knows the sequence without being told. In on of my BB kits at no point it did it mention planking the hull!
One By One The Penguins Steal My Sanity
Proud member of the OAM  (Order of the Armchair Modeller)
Junior member of the OGG  (Order of the Grumpy Git)