Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Graupner Voith Schneider set up  (Read 3656 times)

rnli12

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 586
  • Location: Cornwall
Graupner Voith Schneider set up
« on: December 31, 2015, 03:43:34 PM »

Hi,
 
Can anyone help with the installation and set up of a pair of Voith Schneider propulsion units, in particular the sealing of the unit into the hull which refers to a sealing material to be used.
 
Any help most appreciated.
 
Regards,
 
Rich
Logged
Regards,

Rich

greyman16

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Graupner Voith Schneider set up
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2015, 04:20:08 PM »

The vioth units come with a tapping ring which is glued to the hull and a gasket also supplied is put between unit and ring and they are secured together by 5 screws which should give you the watertight seal
Logged

ray123

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 439
  • mary marie cygnus gm33
  • Location: southeast england
Re: Graupner Voith Schneider set up
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2015, 05:53:47 PM »

 hi  i have built a twin voith tug   nanuq   this is how i installed the units  you will need sealant between the unit & the ring    are you building a parat tug??  regards ray
Logged

rnli12

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 586
  • Location: Cornwall
Re: Graupner Voith Schneider set up
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2015, 06:02:36 PM »

Hi Ray,
 
I have a Sandown Clas MCMV with two older style VS units, I am guessing that the units sit flush with hull underneath.
 
They are new to me but I like a challenge!
 
Regards,
 
Rich
Logged
Regards,

Rich

Umi_Ryuzuki

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,128
  • Location: PDX, OR USA
    • Models and Miniatures
Re: Graupner Voith Schneider set up
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2015, 06:39:55 PM »

The older units lead the larger unit in design, and have the same ring.
The ring is epoxied to the hull. Then there is a strip of seal material.
That is placed around the ring, and seals the drive/ring interface when the drive is mounted.


That material could be found as window sealing material for caravans or RVs.


 :-))


And yes they slight lip on the bottom side of the ring is designed to sit flush,
along with the face plate of the drive, to the bottom of the hull.

poll

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 945
  • Location: Pontefract, West Yorkshire.
Re: Graupner Voith Schneider set up
« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2015, 07:53:22 PM »


 Hi Umi.
 I think you should mention that the set up with the old voith is different to the new regarding servos.

 John
Logged

Umi_Ryuzuki

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,128
  • Location: PDX, OR USA
    • Models and Miniatures
Re: Graupner Voith Schneider set up
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2015, 10:58:57 PM »

Ah, okay,


Forward and Reverse is the angled control bar, and
Left and right is the control bar in line with the motor.


This, given that the center line of the motor and drive are parallel to the keel of the model.

I think you could run the servo for fwd/rev parallel to the keel, and as it pushes back or
pulls forward the bar will slide in it's angular slot, (pushing the drive control stick left and right)
.

rnli12

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 586
  • Location: Cornwall
Re: Graupner Voith Schneider set up
« Reply #7 on: January 01, 2016, 07:17:52 AM »

Hi,
 
Thanks for the information, do you have anymore installation pictures of the servo set up?
 
Are you running the motors on LIPO at what voltage?
 
Many thanks and happy new year to all.
 
 
Rich
Logged
Regards,

Rich

Umi_Ryuzuki

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,128
  • Location: PDX, OR USA
    • Models and Miniatures
Re: Graupner Voith Schneider set up
« Reply #8 on: January 01, 2016, 06:35:46 PM »

Hi Rich,


I don't have the drive set up. I had purchased one used, and one in the box with
the intention to build the Molengat ferry, or like you, one of the Osprey Class MHC.
The ratings for the drive is 4-6 volts.

poll

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 945
  • Location: Pontefract, West Yorkshire.
Re: Graupner Voith Schneider set up
« Reply #9 on: January 02, 2016, 09:46:06 PM »

  Hi Rich.
  See if this will help you set up your VSP's  If you are not sure give me a ring I will PM you the mobile number.
  Regards
 
  John

          PS This is how the VSP's are set up in the Thyssen Pusher Tug.
Logged

poll

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 945
  • Location: Pontefract, West Yorkshire.
Re: Graupner Voith Schneider set up
« Reply #10 on: January 02, 2016, 10:25:42 PM »


   Rich.
   The IMG 211903  Is showing three servos the two outer servos make the model go backwards & forwards or if you like tank steering.
   The middle servo makes the model go side to side. When you have got them fitted in you need to set the VSP's up, to do this you
   have to set them up one side at a time with constant power on all the time. setting the starboard side run the unit {yes in the bath}
   & adjust the linkage so the blades are not cutting any water so it should stay still. then run the Port side on it's own adjust to do
   same as starboard side. when happy run both together. You need them running on 6v. I suggest you run your power through a
   speedo using a rotary switch on your TX then you can turn your unit speeds up or down. Hope this makes some sense to you.
   Regards

   John       
            PS  Port VSP runs anticlockwise  Starboard runs clockwise.
Logged

Umi_Ryuzuki

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,128
  • Location: PDX, OR USA
    • Models and Miniatures
Re: Graupner Voith Schneider set up
« Reply #11 on: January 02, 2016, 10:57:15 PM »

Very interesting John.


I've never seen those plans before. I probably would have set four servos to
task and ganged the steering at the receiver.


 :-)

Jerry C

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,102
  • Location: Caernarfon, North Wales.
Re: Graupner Voith Schneider set up
« Reply #12 on: January 03, 2016, 12:50:10 AM »

Three servos is correct on a twin Voith unit. Two for ahead and astern on each unit, (operated by simple levers and rods from the wheelhouse) and one "steering wheel" adjacent to the sticks. Turning the wheel to port puts pitch on the blades which thrusts the boat directly to port and vice versa. I used a rotary controller on my transmitter to achieve this action.
No esc is needed, just a radio switch to switch the motors on and off. It needs to be man enough to handle the starting current. The motors contra rotate at max rpm. It's nice though to have an esc especially when learning as the units can be quite violent until you get the hang of them. Real life voiths have no speed control, they run at max rpm all the time(no pitch no load). To move the boat sideways put one lever ahead, the other astern and counter the turn with the wheel. Use one lever to counter ahead or astern movement. I used channel 1 for stbd lever and channel 3 for port lever. Channel 5 uses the rotary control knob for "steering".
Jerry.

rnli12

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 586
  • Location: Cornwall
Re: Graupner Voith Schneider set up
« Reply #13 on: January 03, 2016, 06:12:35 AM »

Hi,
 
Thanks to all for clarifying, the drawings clearly show me what to do now and the 3 servo set up as i was trying to fathom out how 2 would manage the control levers.
 
So am I right in assuming no esc as really required but perhaps an in line fuse and on/off switch unit or is there something out there I could to soft start the motors to full operating speed?
 
Regards,
 
Rich
Logged
Regards,

Rich

Umi_Ryuzuki

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,128
  • Location: PDX, OR USA
    • Models and Miniatures
Re: Graupner Voith Schneider set up
« Reply #14 on: January 03, 2016, 06:16:12 AM »

But the drive are still controlled the same as the newer versions, so
I would imagine they could still be run with four servos.


My voith runs throttle(esc) and rudder on the right stick, and fwd/rev on the left sticks.  :-)
But yes, you could run just a switch for the power to motors as speed can be controlled
using the pitch of the propellers. An ESC is the easiest way to soft start the motors.


.

poll

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 945
  • Location: Pontefract, West Yorkshire.
Re: Graupner Voith Schneider set up
« Reply #15 on: January 03, 2016, 10:28:28 AM »

  Hi Rich
  IMG 211921  If you look on this photo to the left of the Pic you will see the on/off switch.  The plan I posted was for the Thyssen 11

  John
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up