Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How do you fit your esc ?  (Read 2849 times)

slewis

  • Guest
How do you fit your esc ?
« on: August 02, 2007, 09:14:19 PM »

Just a quick query here and the answer is probably staring me in the face but I will ask all you more experienced boaters .
I have an ESC to fit and am wondering how you fit it in the hull ? I.E what holds it in place ? I can handle the wiring side of it but am coming up against a brick wall when trying to secure it in place. There are no screw holes through it which would be ideal and I am loathe to stick it down as the heatsink is on the bottom of it so I don't really want to gum it up with epoxy or the like .

There Must be an easy way that I just cant see !

Oh and its a Mtronik Viper 25 .

Thanks chaps

Shane
Logged

wombat

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 642
  • The view from the shallow end of the gene pool
Re: How do you fit your esc ?
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2007, 09:33:11 PM »

My Viper15s are lightly loaded and don't get very warm at all, so they are held down with double sided sticky foam tape.

If this is not suitable, the MTronics heatsink has a groove down the center with lips that narrow the opening - try an M3 or M2.5 nut in there - you should be able to clamp the thing down. Alternatively it may be possible to thread a short self-tapper into the gap

Wom
Logged
The prat in the hat - www.floatingwombat.me.uk - Have look & say Hi

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,568
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: How do you fit your esc ?
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2007, 09:37:09 PM »

Sit it in a tray or open box, secure the wiring.  They run cool, weigh little, so very little inertia, and they are robust.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

slewis

  • Guest
Re: How do you fit your esc ?
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2007, 09:39:07 PM »

Thanks for that Wombat . On looking at the groove you mention I am of the mind to slide a section of brass tube up it and flatten each end down and screw through that into epoxied blocks .

Many thanks  Like I said   the solution was staring me in the face !  ::)

Shane
Logged

spoons

  • Guest
Re: How do you fit your esc ?
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2007, 09:40:14 PM »

Hi mate i have used sticky backed Velcro on mine so that they are secure yet can be removed and changed if necessary.
stu
Logged

kayem

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 161
  • .....excellent!
Re: How do you fit your esc ?
« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2007, 09:41:23 PM »

I always use Velcro, even simpler. I buy it in packs of small squares with a self adhesive backing, and just stick one bit to the side of the hull where it isn't going to get in the way, reinforcing the joint with a bit of Evo-Stik, and do the same with the ESC. Never had one fall off or come loose yet.
Logged
"Outside of a dog, a man's best friend is a book; inside of a dog, it's very dark" Groucho Marx

slewis

  • Guest
Re: How do you fit your esc ?
« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2007, 09:43:08 PM »

Malcolm I was worried about heat as in another thread someone was stating smoke coming from it ! Ok he has another problem but it did cross my mind .

Personally my first thought was to use velcro straps on averything for just the reason Spoons stated  I can remove and use in other projects if needed. But the heat thing put me off that one .
Now I will be off to Maplins tomorrow as I know they sell them .

Thanks chaps

Shane
Logged

red

  • Guest
Re: How do you fit your esc ?
« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2007, 09:47:08 PM »

I don't like putting them in trays for one reason , If you get any water in a boat apart from the odd bit from the prop shaft the water comes in from above filling the tray if you put the radio gear on a couple of bearears and put the tray over  the top "upside down" unless you get a couple of inches of water in the radio gear stays dry where as a small splash will stay in a tray and slosh around you radio gear ,, this works for me and the only other thing I do is use a balloon to put the receiver in
Fred
Logged

spoons

  • Guest
Re: How do you fit your esc ?
« Reply #8 on: August 02, 2007, 09:48:32 PM »

I tested one of my boats the other day and it wasn't warm at all so I'm going with this as it works for me, but it should come down to what your comfortable with.
stu
Logged

Captain Povey

  • Guest
Re: How do you fit your esc ?
« Reply #9 on: August 02, 2007, 09:55:42 PM »

Hi Shane, I have also used velcro in one model but in another I fixed some Aluminium angle into the boat and used medium sized R clip with the straight leg down the groove in the back of the esc. You might see it in the attached picture. Cheers Graham  :)
Logged

slewis

  • Guest
Re: How do you fit your esc ?
« Reply #10 on: August 02, 2007, 09:59:59 PM »

Graham  now THATS a busy compartment !!
Logged

funtimefrankie

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,260
  • Location: Birkdale, Lancashire. twixt the Mersey & the Ribble
Re: How do you fit your esc ?
« Reply #11 on: August 02, 2007, 10:12:13 PM »

I've mine mounted with a nut and bolt
Logged

Captain Povey

  • Guest
Re: How do you fit your esc ?
« Reply #12 on: August 03, 2007, 11:55:33 AM »

Hi Shane, I think you are being polite to describe it as 'busy' I think of it as more of a birds nest especially as I have now added two more switches to that poor little servo. Cheers Graham.
Logged

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,568
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: How do you fit your esc ?
« Reply #13 on: August 03, 2007, 01:45:25 PM »

If smoke comes from any unit it is not normal, it's broken. 
The tray does not need a solid bottom - holes for drainage are easy to arrange, and the units are very water resistant anyway.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

Stavros

  • Guest
Re: How do you fit your esc ?
« Reply #14 on: August 03, 2007, 06:24:54 PM »

What is wrong with double sided tape? Stavros
Logged

slewis

  • Guest
Re: How do you fit your esc ?
« Reply #15 on: August 03, 2007, 06:56:17 PM »

Quote
What is wrong with double sided tape? Stavros

I aint got any ! But I have loads of velcro straps  ;)

Shane



I was concerned that these things ran hot .I now know they dont so YES D/S tape would of done just fine .
Logged

chingdevil

  • Guest
Re: How do you fit your esc ?
« Reply #16 on: August 07, 2007, 09:16:56 PM »

Shane
I put 3 brass rods up the grooves of my Mtronics ESC and then held the ends of the centre one down with a cable tie. You get a bit of air flow and also it dont move :D :D :D

Brian
Logged

Colin Bishop

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 10,316
  • Location: SW Surrey, UK
Re: How do you fit your esc ?
« Reply #17 on: August 07, 2007, 09:28:11 PM »

With regard to water getting in from above I have placed cling film on top f the old Maplins kit controller on one of my boats. It doesn't get hot so gives a reasonable degree of protection.
Logged

Ghost in the shell

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,707
  • Go Nuclear! you'll love it
Re: How do you fit your esc ?
« Reply #18 on: August 07, 2007, 09:29:40 PM »

usually ds tape, however yamato, just Gravity holds them down!  as for them getting wet I am not worried about mtronix as they are waterproof
Logged
"xxxxx" the tree huggers, GO NUCLEAR

DickyD

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,497
  • www.srcmbc.org.uk
  • Location: Southampton UK
    • SRCMBC
Re: How do you fit your esc ?
« Reply #19 on: August 07, 2007, 09:34:48 PM »

Overlander Esc, waterproof and fixed with double sided tape.
Logged
Richard Solent Radio Controlled Model Boat Club http://www.srcmbc.org.uk
Pages: [1]   Go Up