Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Just saying Hello from west Wales ...  (Read 3364 times)

Brian36

• Shipmate
  • Ars longa, vita brevis
Just saying Hello from west Wales ...
« on: February 28, 2016, 05:36:15 pm »

Hello!
I can't really call myself a beginner, but I'm a newbie to Model Boat Mayhem.
I got here as a result of a Google search.  I needed cringles for the sails on my current build (a static 1:16 model of the HMS Bounty Launch), so I fed in the words 'mini cringles model ship' and there you were!  I wasn't really expecting to find a shop selling them - I just wanted to find advice about making them.
So, very many thanks to 'Watchleader' (who now seems to call himself 'WasWatchleader'!) for his admirable build log for the spritsail Barge 'Lady Daphne'.  http://www.modelboatmayhem.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,25787.50.html   It's useful to me, not only for advice on the making of the cringles, but also because I'm hoping my next build will be a model of a Thames barge.  Back in the nineteen forties I used to sail on the Blackwater/Colne estuaries, and would often see these lovely boats with their big, brown sails, laden to the gunwales with all sorts of cargoes.

I get the impression this forum could be mainly for modelers who make real, sailing models.  I don't aspire to that, myself, but I'm sure the building principles are mainly the same.  So I'll be looking in here pretty often, and perhaps hoping to make some friends.
Brian
4½ static model ships built so far.  All from kits, except the one in my avatar.

Klunk

• Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • If you know who I am, please remind me!!
Re: Just saying Hello from west Wales ...
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2016, 05:44:30 pm »