Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Replacement motor for old mk3 viper bait  (Read 7244 times)

Jonoono69

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Devon England
Replacement motor for old mk3 viper bait
« on: April 16, 2016, 08:37:56 pm »

Hello to all on motor mayhem......
I have an old viper mk3 bait boat, one of the motor's has given up... I have split the boat and removed the motor.... it has a pressed gear fitted to it, I cannot see a grommet screw fitted to it.
I would like to know what size motor's  I could replace with.
I believe viper bait boat's gave gone into receivership. Bust.... <:(
Any help would be great. Many thanks....
Pics to follow....
Logged

Jonoono69

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Devon England
Re: Replacement motor for old mk3 viper bait
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2016, 04:31:03 pm »

Hello to all on motor mayhem......
I have an old viper mk3 bait boat, one of the motor's has given up... I have split the boat and removed the motor.... it has a pressed gear fitted to it, I cannot see a grommet screw fitted to it.
I would like to know what size motor's  I could replace with.
I believe viper bait boat's have gone into receivership. Bust.... <:(
The impellers run off a belt link to the motor by a tooth belt.
I think the motor is 545...?.
The boat size is....
700mm long.
350mm wide.
250mm high.
12v battery...
1x 50 amp esc for each motor.....
Any advice on replacing the motor's would be great
Thank you.


Logged

Stavros

  • Guest
Re: Replacement motor for old mk3 viper bait
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2016, 09:15:32 pm »

Is there any writing on the side of the motors at all....maybe remove the other one to see if there is any info on that one........I take it that you have tried a direct 12v to the motor to test it....if it then works it will be most definatly be the Esc


Dave
Logged

Jonoono69

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Devon England
Re: Replacement motor for old mk3 viper bait
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2016, 09:58:41 pm »

Thank you for the reply stavros.
Have swapped the motor to the over side. Still no joy.
The smoke gave it away...... :embarrassed:
No serial numbers or markings on both motor's ether.....
Not too sure about how many turns the motor has...
Could you recommend a motor to replace....
I would be replacing both....
Many thanks...
Logged

Stavros

  • Guest
Re: Replacement motor for old mk3 viper bait
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2016, 10:03:48 pm »

No not really as info on the motors would help a lot....one main problem you have is the gear wheel to drive the belt as they are heat shrunk to the shaft and it is very difficult to get off ....even if you get them off fitting them will be a hard job without damaging the motor.....best bet is to search ebay.....search 12v motors...yes I know there are a lot on it

Dave
Logged

Jonoono69

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Devon England
Re: Replacement motor for old mk3 viper bait
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2016, 10:12:04 pm »

Hi stavros.
Have searched and found the same gears that come with screw grommets aswell....
So that is not a problem......
I have seen some so called replacement motor's on flee bay. but mine do not have the brass shafts....
Logged

Stavros

  • Guest
Re: Replacement motor for old mk3 viper bait
« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2016, 10:18:06 pm »

Message sent

Dave
Logged

Jonoono69

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Devon England
Re: Replacement motor for old mk3 viper bait
« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2016, 10:25:33 pm »

Hi dave.
Will put a vernier on the shafts length and thickness tomorrow.
Many thanks for your reply.......
Logged

Stavros

  • Guest
Re: Replacement motor for old mk3 viper bait
« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2016, 10:35:00 pm »

still need the RPM of the original motor....to fast it will cavitate to slow well it will hardly move.......I can poss put the original gears off your old motors onto the new ones for you as I have to means to do so hence the messae sent to you

Dave
Logged

Jonoono69

  • Shipmate
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
  • Location: Devon England
Re: Replacement motor for old mk3 viper bait
« Reply #9 on: April 24, 2016, 10:03:41 pm »

First may I apologise for the late reply dave.
As I only had the boat for 15 months.... I went back to the guy I bought the boat from.
Just so happens he worked for viper bait boat's when they went bust... gave me lots of information.... and ways round to my fix.
Have ordered two topedo 800 motor's....
The Specification are,
Approx motor diameter 50mm by 70mm long.
Operating Voltage 12 volts.
Current approx. 5.28A at max efficiency.
RPM at 12.0v - 4289 at max efficiency.
Weight 595g (approx)
Shaft Diameter - 6.35mm the size of my gearing.
Many thanks.........



Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up