Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Newby question on RF antenna location  (Read 2207 times)

KevinM

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Newby question on RF antenna location
« on: May 12, 2016, 08:43:57 am »

Hi im very new to all this so please forgive what is probably a stupid question.

Im building a midwest fantail and am at the point I want to complete the hull planking but I have to decide upon antenna location first.

If the antenna needs to be vertical I need to buy the receiver and feed the antenna up the flagstaff on the rear before closing, I will not be able to remove the receiver then.

If the antenna can be horizontal and perhaps run under the gunnals (or even coiled under the rear deck) and give enough gain to work across the pond I can go ahead and seal it up.

Any advice welcome

PS am thinking to get the TAMCO 6 channel TX/RX

thegrimreaper

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Newby question on RF antenna location
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2016, 09:33:13 am »

No need for it to be vertical just as long as it is above the waterline if your using 2.4 Ghz

Mark.

Don't lie, thieve, cheat or steal. The Government do not like the competition.

malcolmfrary

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2016, 09:41:47 am »

Assuming a 2.4GHz radio, as long as whatever structure is between the antenna and the outside world does not blank the signal, under the deck is fine.  Wood, plastic are generally transparent to radio signals, metal isn't.
Siting any component where it is inaccessible for later work is never a good idea, especially a radio.  If it ever needed rebinding (say, if a new transmitter was got) and you couldn't reach the bind button or access the bind pins easily, that would be a disaster.