Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Switches on light circuits  (Read 2131 times)

Captain Flack

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,026
  • Location: Devon
Switches on light circuits
« on: October 27, 2016, 04:05:23 PM »

I have several "revolving" yellow lights, actually they don't revolve they have 4 leds that light in a circular sequence.  They run off receiver voltage but have 3 wires into them, pos, neg & signal.  My question is how do I switch them, either manually or by a TX controlled switch as the TX switches I have only have the two wires on them and when I tried inserting a manual switch on the positive lead it seemed to wreck the unit.
Any ideas would be greatfully appreciated.
Logged

Martin [Admin]

  • Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19,109
  • Location: Peterborough, UK
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: Switches on light circuits
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2016, 05:45:27 PM »


Do they plug into the Rx like a servo?
Logged
"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!"    -   Mayhem FaceBook Group!

Captain Flack

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,026
  • Location: Devon
Re: Switches on light circuits
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2016, 09:12:31 AM »

Yes, they do.
Logged

inertia

  • Guest
Re: Switches on light circuits
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2016, 09:19:28 AM »

In that case you may find that if you plug them into a channel which has a 2-way (toggle) switch on the transmitter to operate it then that will turn the unit on and off. I've had a look on E-Bay and those advertised seem to "plug into a spare receiver channel" e.g. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/RC-Rotating-beacon-AMBER-suit-Tamiya-13mm-dia-x-18mm-high-/301487892001
DM
Logged

Captain Flack

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,026
  • Location: Devon
Re: Switches on light circuits
« Reply #4 on: November 01, 2016, 05:20:47 PM »

That doesn't appear to make them work either.  Course that could just be me :-) :-) :-) :-)
Logged

inertia

  • Guest
Re: Switches on light circuits
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2016, 05:29:27 PM »

That doesn't appear to make them work either.  Course that could just be me :-) :-) :-) :-)

Hence my use of the word "may" and not "should"!
Generally 3-wire leads with receiver-type plugs on the end tend to fit into receivers, like the one I found (above link). Of course the whole thing might just be U/S...  <:(
Looks like it's back to E-bay, m'duck.
DM
Logged

Captain Flack

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,026
  • Location: Devon
Re: Switches on light circuits
« Reply #6 on: November 02, 2016, 10:47:35 AM »

Sorry, I think we may be at cross purposes here, my fault.  The units do work when plugged into the receiver, no problem.  I want to be able to switch them and can't.  I have them plugged into the gear channel and have set the necessary percentages, or so I believe , on an allocated switch but they still stay on.  I am unable to turn them off/on via a TX switch.
Am I right in assumimg that I should be able to do so or do I need a switcher?

Incidentally, they are exactly the same units as shown in your link.
Logged

Martin [Admin]

  • Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19,109
  • Location: Peterborough, UK
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: Switches on light circuits
« Reply #7 on: November 02, 2016, 11:50:34 AM »


Try plugging in a servo to the same channel on the Rx, when you flip the switch, does it travel from one end t'uther?
Logged
"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!"    -   Mayhem FaceBook Group!

Captain Flack

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,026
  • Location: Devon
Re: Switches on light circuits
« Reply #8 on: November 02, 2016, 02:34:17 PM »

Will try that and report back.  Thanks.
Logged

Netleyned

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8,988
  • Location: Meridian Line, Mouth of the Humber
    • cleethorpes mba
Re: Switches on light circuits
« Reply #9 on: November 02, 2016, 03:08:43 PM »

Hurry up  :D


Ned
Logged
Smooth seas never made skilful sailors
Up Spirits  Stand fast the Holy Ghost.
http://www.cleethorpesmba.co.uk/

Captain Flack

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,026
  • Location: Devon
Re: Switches on light circuits
« Reply #10 on: November 03, 2016, 03:47:46 PM »

The next thrilling installment {-) {-) {-)

I have plugged in a servo and yes it does move from end to end when the switch is moved.  I don't know if that's a good thing or bad {:-{
Logged

inertia

  • Guest
Re: Switches on light circuits
« Reply #11 on: November 03, 2016, 04:16:25 PM »

That's good for the servo and good for the receiver, but not so good for the beacon.
Try plugging it into a "normal" channel i.e. one with a stick, and move the stick from one extreme to the other, slowly. Does the beacon come on? If so, does the position of the stick have any effect on how it flashes? If not, then it doesn't do what the one on E-Bay allegedly does.
(Sometimes I feel like I'm talking to a puppy; please excuse me if it sounds at all patronising).
DM
Logged

Netleyned

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8,988
  • Location: Meridian Line, Mouth of the Humber
    • cleethorpes mba
Re: Switches on light circuits
« Reply #12 on: November 03, 2016, 04:21:21 PM »

Proves the Tx/Rx works ok on
The channel you are switching.
The Rx is supplying power and
sending a signal to the servo.
Need to look at the sequential
switching on the light unit next
I think.

And wot Dave said O0

Ned
Logged
Smooth seas never made skilful sailors
Up Spirits  Stand fast the Holy Ghost.
http://www.cleethorpesmba.co.uk/

Captain Flack

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,026
  • Location: Devon
Re: Switches on light circuits
« Reply #13 on: November 04, 2016, 05:14:50 PM »

Thanks very much to all those who replied.  You certainly pointed me in the exct direction to get this problem sorted.
 
The lights I have are "exactly" the same as the ones in the above link, but when I bought them, a while ago now, there was no mention of the sequential lighting either on the e-bay blurb or on the packaging, so I assumed, wrongly, that they either rotated or not and could not work out why they didn't do that.
 But the problem has now been resolved and once again thanks to all those who took the trouble to post and help me out. :-))
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up