Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hello from a new member  (Read 2890 times)

skierdive

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Hello from a new member
« on: November 22, 2016, 09:00:48 pm »

Hello everyone,
I thought i should introduce myself.
I am new to model boat building. So new in fact that i am yet to build any models at all.

I have, in the past built plastic kits by Airfix and Revel as a boy. These were mainly planes which when completed were suspended from my bedroom ceiling. Two boats that i remember building were the "Golden Hind" and the "Great Western".

I am glad to say that i grew up in a time when we could play outdoors until it got dark, roaming the local fields and woods, climbing trees, building dens and making our own bows and arrows and go karts.i think the HSE would have a field day with the things we got up to.
Most of our summer holidays were spent in Llandudno where i sometimes sailed a Gold Star type yacht on the pool on the front or flying a box kite on the Orme. These were the days when you were either watching Blue Peter or Magpie.

I have throughout my life been cursed with an insatiable interest and curiosity in everything, whether it is sport, wildlife, cars and  boats, science or books, you name it. I watched the moon landings on TV as a kid and retained that facination into adulthood and was lucky enough to see a Space Shuttle take off in Florida.
I was inspired by Jacques Cousteau's programs and when I got a bit older i was a Scuba Diver for twenty years, i have also been a skier for twenty years (hence my username).

But why have i decided to have a go at building a model boat?