Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Gun Barrel flash and bang!  (Read 2727 times)

Rottweiler

• Full Mayhemer
Gun Barrel flash and bang!
« on: November 05, 2016, 01:37:41 am »

Hi,
Could anyone give me any simple ideas as to how do I achieve a gun flash,and subject roar for a 15 inch scale turret please? It is for a twin turret,for the model of HMS RAMILLIES,British Battleship.Something that could be seen and heard from a distance from the poolside
All I can think of is an ultrabright red led,in the barrel,but I have no idea how to wire it up,or how to get the blast sound momentarily after the flash
Keep it very simple please,as I am no electrician!!
Thanks
Mick

derekwarner

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Gun Barrel flash and bang!
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2016, 05:22:00 am »

Mick......we have a very lengthy thread from 'Geoff'....about his Battleship turrets ......'Iron Duke 1914' ...............

Try this ................

http://www.modelboatmayhem.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,43803.msg580984.html#msg580984

Derek
Derek Warner

Honorary Secretary [Retired]
Illawarra Live Steamers Co-op
Australia
www.ils.org.au

Colin Bishop

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2016, 06:00:39 am »

Also the model tank people use the bang/flash method with no smoke. Try Googling for more info.

Colin

rsm

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2016, 09:54:37 am »

Admiralty electronics do a "gun flash" unit (AE9186) and a "16 inch gun salvo" sound unit (AE9081) that can be used together.

http://www.model-dockyard.com/acatalog/Admiralty-Electronic-Accessories.html

Roger

Geoff

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2016, 02:07:30 pm »

I'd be very interested to see reports oh someone who has actually bought this - how loud is it really - for example can you hear it 30 feet away of is it only really a close range noise? Cheers Geoff

Rottweiler

• Full Mayhemer