Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to make it go,  (Read 5983 times)

surabaya

How to make it go,
« on: May 27, 2007, 11:40:13 pm »

Hi, all.
I am pretty new to this. the building side of things,fine , :) but when it comes to the things that make it go, why are the wires all different colours,  ???, Well perhaps I`m not quite that bad.
My problem started when someone offered me a 50" motor cabin cruiser that needed restoration, Old and dusty with only the props and rudders left in.
I took up the challenge ( how hard can it be) and I`m doing fine,it is starting to look good. Now I need to think more of how it will move.
I have so far got an acoms  2 ch transmitter, 2 servos, rx with battery box, and 2 marbuchi RS540SH motors. Also while I was in singapore on the way back from Indonesia, I happened across a place brimming with R/C models and equip, and without too much thought, bought 2 Esc`s rated max 100amp for and 50amp reverse.
Now guy`s what do I do with all this and what else do I need( Cos just chucking them all in the boat does`nt seem to work)
I don`t know if all of these will match up and what wire goes where,
Any help would be much appreciated

tobyker

• Full Mayhemer
Re: How to make it go,
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2007, 12:28:28 am »

Welcome, mate. You will find the electric bits all explained on this site. Click on the "electric motors" bit on the home page. I suspect that  100 amp ESCs may not give you very slow running and you might do better with lower rated ones, but I don't know much about electrics - I'm building my first serious one at the moment, in between various sail projects. I suspect also that a pair of 540s may not shift a 50" hull all that quickly, but it will still be worth installing it all for the experience.

Good luck.

Tug-Kenny RIP

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2007, 11:50:03 am »

Welcome to the club Surabaya.